PDA

View Full Version : Mounting 2 Cameras for Stereo Vision

MadBot
05-22-2014, 10:22 PM
Hi, I'm new to robotics - but fairly excited to start - just wanna get an idea if I can mount 2 of the MS Cameras on a phantom x turret.

I am not sure what kind of brackets come with it, or if I need additional equipment for that kind of setup. Prefer not to have to resort to duct tapes if I at all possible :P

http://www.trossenrobotics.com/p/Microsoft-LifeCam-Cinema-Webcam-HD-robot-camera.aspx (X2)

http://www.trossenrobotics.com/p/phantomX-robot-turret.aspx

jwatte
05-23-2014, 12:03 PM
I believe you need to make some additional kind of bracket for that, but I don't have the turret, so I'm not sure.

I use two MS cameras for my rover, and use OpenCV to calibrate them for stereo. I made the bracket out of 1 inch square aluminum tubing.

MadBot
05-23-2014, 01:18 PM
Urk... I rather not be doing any drilling in my apartment... besides I just want to code and spent as little time on hardware as possible.

jwatte
05-23-2014, 03:42 PM
Drilling 3mm holes in plastic with a cordless drill is totally apartment compatible :-)
Although I imagine some JB Weld or other epoxy-like adhesive might also work.
Fasten the stand-offs in the right pattern on the top of the quad walker, and screw the top of the turret into those stand-offs.

DangerousThing
05-25-2014, 04:15 AM
For multi-camera vision you get the best results if you have a full definition of where all the cameras are. With a bracket, you'll be much more positive as to the exact location of the cameras.

jwatte
05-25-2014, 02:32 PM
The main requirement is that the cameras don't move after calibration. As long as you can rigidly fix the cameras, then a bracket, some InstalMorph, or superglue can all achieve the same rigid fixing of the cameras, with varying degree of aesthetics.