PDA

View Full Version : Getting stated with ROS and ArbotixM

Freyzor
01-29-2015, 08:42 PM
Hi, I have a wheeled quadruped built from and arbotix and dynamixels and have had good success with arbotix alone using something derived from the NUKE but now I want to get into the ROS echosystem. I have a Raspberry Pi with wifi connected to the arbotix via FTDI, ROS indigo setup and the arbotix package. I got the firmware build and running using inotools which is nice since that works well from the command line via SSH terminal.

I'm new to ROS but have gone through the basic tutorials and now want to implement a basic quadruped walker via ROS. I haven't found any comprehensive explanations of what the different components of the arbotix package and what I find are references to 0.4 and 0.5 versions of but the git versions seems to be at 0.10 and the descriptions no longer match up. So I pretty much have to work may way backwards from the code to dig up the accepted parameters and such. It a bit hard to figure out exactly how the controllers are intended to work and be used. i.e. the follow_controller for which I have seen an example config as a turret but I have no idea why and how it is used yet. What controller would you use for a 3dof leg of a walker?

Does anyone have examples of a setup for a simple robot (preferebly a quadruped or a hexapod) using recent versions that I could reference?

I'm trying to bootstrap myself into a running environment where I have something like a gait engine with a working yaml config and urdf.

Any tips or references are helpful :)

Freyr

tician
01-30-2015, 02:39 AM