PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] How to detect / find plastic objects outside

J4S0N
03-25-2015, 10:33 AM
Hello everyone! I'm a bit new to this and find myself getting in waaaay over my head... I want to build a device that can scan and find plastic discs outside but I can't figure out what type of sensors I need or if it is even possible...

My requirements are:

Cheap! I don't have much money to spend on this
Able to scan at least 10 feet away (but 30 feet or longer would be a big plus)
Able to identify 6 inch diameter hard plastic discs in any orientation (flat on the ground, or at any angle)
Able to scan behind/through tall grass, bushes and tress
Scan cone can be slim, assume can be spinning like a radar
Small/Portable design, hand held would be great

My first idea was passive UHF RFID tags on the disc but the price of the readers are too far out of my budget. I prefer not to attach things to the discs but can if it makes finding them easier (must be light weight and very slim - like a sticker).

My next thought was sonar or ultrasound, but i'm unsure if it can detect plastic and if it can look through bushes. I've only now started looking at this type of sensor. Is that the right path or is there something else I should be researching?

Thanks for reading, I hope you guys can point me in the right direction!

tician
03-25-2015, 03:24 PM
125kHZ RFID readers can be found for really cheap (<$15), but the range is usually limited to a few inches at most.

Unless the plastic is 'metal detector' rated (small amount of ferro-magnetic material added to the plastic during manufacture), then