PDA

View Full Version : [Discussion] Kit Comments/Suggestions

Mike.
04-27-2015, 03:00 PM
I hope it is ok to start this tread... unsolicited opinions, right?!? Everybody has one.

Soft pack Lipo’s are very sensitive to physical damage (indentations or dents from dropping) or deformations (bending). I've got some experience with these types of packs from RC helicopter and competition 1/8 scale off-road racing. I typically would go through a set of packs a season in 1/8 off-road just due to the physical abuse the packs would take from tumbling the car. The outside cells were always the first to go because they took the brunt of the physical abuse. These cells would always discharge faster than the inner cells.

For production kits of the HROS1 I would definitely recommend hard packs if the robot can withstand the extra weight, they are inexpensive enough from places like HobbyKing or other direct overseas sources; there are good reasons why ROAR requires them in sanctioned races. Don't get me wrong, even softpacks can be very durable provided the user is knowledge about the pitfalls.

I would also recommend including a charge bag in the kit for indoor use (however, this does not excuse unmonitored charging). Today’s chargers are doing a better job of monitoring batteries. Definitely use the included battery monitor when the robot is in operation; this is a great included extra to monitor the batteries health. I would recommend putting some heat shrink or something around the unused pins of the monitor to act as insulation. Integrating a battery monitor in the servo board would be even better. This would allow for the possibility of implementing an auto-shut down feature using some depletion mode FET’s just in case the robot is left on unattended. It may also allow for onboard monitored slow charging through the balance port with the FET’s off.