PDA

View Full Version : HROS-1 with ODROID XU4



LloydF
09-10-2015, 10:37 AM
Hi, well I found the perfect small and powerful 8 core cpu the Odroid xu-4, and most wonderful image from http://forum.odroid.com/viewforum.php?f=95 with ROS Point cloud 14.04 LTS and drivers for OpenNi with the kinect drivers all installed (Note only trick is use eth2 and wlan1). I compiled the HROS-1 files with out a error. The problem is, it can draw as much as 3 Amps on the 5V supply. My question is "will or can the Arbotix Pro handle the Load?" I'm a chicken and don't want my magic smoke getting out.:wink: I have this OrSens - portable stereo-camera calculating depthmap onboard, so you can get depth and RGB streams via USB at 30FPS on order. I am hoping this will give me the sensor I have been looking for on this robot.:confused:

tician
09-10-2015, 11:04 AM
The two OKI-78SR on the arbotix-pro can only provide [email protected] and [email protected] The OKI-78SR have automatic short-circuit/over-current protection on the output, so will not damage them but they will continually reset from over-current fault until the excessive load is removed.

I'm working on a small, cheap breakout board for the OKI-T/10-W12 (http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/OKR-T%2F10-W12-C/811-2180-ND/2199630) with a 267[Ohm] precision resistor in 0805 (http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/RT0805BRD07267RL/YAG1844CT-ND/5139292) package to provide almost 10A at ~5.017V (50W output power rating), but not sure what accessories and headers to add (likely automotive blade fuse on input and 0.1" 2xN output headers). It has a rather weird 1.7mm lead spacing and does not come in horizontal mount versions, but still very nice looking device and smaller than paired XT-60 connectors.

KurtEck
09-10-2015, 11:12 AM
I also have the use Xu4, but I think I am first thinking of using it in the Hexapod, versus the XU3-lite I currently have in it.
I was first going to try the C1 in the HR-OS1 as it has the same footprint and mounting holes as RPI.

If it were me, I would use an external BEC to power the Odroid. The 5v regulator on the Arbotix Pro is a 8w or about 1.5amp converter.
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?keywords=811-2692-ND

Kurt

LloydF
09-10-2015, 11:55 AM
Thanks guys, was afraid of that, still the most wonderful little setup, gggrrr power hungry. A addition power source makes it unusable on this little bot but idea for a turtle-bot like project.... hum I wonder.

KurtEck
09-10-2015, 02:47 PM
Note: I believe my HR-OS1 kit came with a 3amp UBEC: http://www.trossenrobotics.com/6v-3a-ubec-2-5s-lipoly-6-32v
They are pretty small so would not be hard to mount.

On my PhantomX I am using one of these: http://www.amazon.com/Castle-Creations-Bec-Switching-Regulator/dp/B000MXAR12/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1441564302&sr=8-6&keywords=5v+bec

At some point I was going to probably try hooking up a BEC to the Arbotix Pro. I believe that the Dynamixel connector marked CPU power only, has it's power and ground pins directly hooked up to the power pins of the Arbotix Pro, so I was going to wire up the BEC to a Servo cable and plug it into there... I already have a cable setup this way for my PhantomX, which plugs into a powered hub.

Kurt

LloydF
09-13-2015, 08:49 AM
Hum, I should get a nice BEC Monday. I'm glad I have a XU3 as It looks like there out of production. Shame as the performance to power used ration was really nice on this board and the 14.04 LTS robot image runs on it as well as the XU4 (Note EMMC 5.0 memory rocks).

bstag
09-14-2015, 11:15 AM
I also have this setup laying around. It is not attached to the hros-1. I was thinking of switching over to it for use with vision processing performance.

LloydF
10-22-2015, 01:43 PM
Hum I have a nice 5v 10A small regulator now, all is not lost here .:cool: