PDA

View Full Version : Problems with 'git checkout master'



OldBotBuilder
12-16-2015, 02:29 PM
I have been using Renee's 'dev' branch for the Framework.
I noticed that the 'master' branch has been updated. (With no notification on the Forum.)
From my directory /HROS1-Framework
if I do 'git branch' I get:
* dev
master

If I then do 'git checkout master' I get:

error: Your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by checkout:
Data/config.ini
Linux/project/ps3_demo/main.cpp
Please, commit your changes or statch them before you can switch branches.
Aborting

OK, now what do I do?

Thanks for any help.

r3n33
12-16-2015, 04:16 PM
In this scenario I believe you are currently using my "fork" of the repository ( https://github.com/r3n33/HROS1-Framework ) and have checked out the 'dev' branch.. and what you are wanting to do is checkout the 'master' branch of the official Interbotix repository ( https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-Framework ).

As far as I know, and this may not be the only way, you'll typically checkout individual repositories ( or forks of repositories in this case ) in their own working directory somewhere in your local filesystem ( ie on the robot ). In this case you have currently checked out the 'dev' branch of my repo to the directory ~/HROS1-Framework on your robot.

If I was in your position I would rename ~/HROS1-Framework to ~/HROS1-Renee so you could then clone the official repository in your home directory.


cd ~
mv ~/HROS1-Framework ~/HROS1-Renee
git clone https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-Framework.git

Or you could chose to make a new directory, say ~/HROS1-Official, and clone the Interbotix copy of the framework. Which will leave my fork in ~/HROS1-Framework along with all your local changes ( Data/config.ini and ps3_demo/main.cpp ).


git clone https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-Framework.git ~/HROS1-Official


Hope this helps.

OldBotBuilder
12-16-2015, 04:47 PM
Renee,

Once again you have come to my rescue!

I chose to move to a directory /HROS1-Framework-Renee

I did the git clone ... and then 'make clean && make' on all the 'project' directories.
They ran except 'node_server' and 'tutorial'.

Thank you - again.

LloydF
12-17-2015, 10:33 AM
node_server and tutorial have sub directors that you compile.:wink:
I wonder if these run normally on the edison? As the head_tracking is inverted on the RPI2.

r3n33
12-19-2015, 02:03 PM
You're welcome. I'm glad I could help!