PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] Com between raspberry pi and arbotix m

andyandy26
02-16-2016, 07:14 PM
Hello!

So I've been looking at the communication "protocol" of the virtual commander for the arbotix and found it to be sending 8 bytes of data; a start byte, 6 bytes of info then a checksum for a rough error checking.

I was wondering that for my own program if it was possible to do a similar thing but with 10 bit unsigned integers (18 AX12 servo positions). I'm thinking that to send a 10 bit, I would need 2 bytes. Then I could send 18 * 2 bytes plus a starting bytes(s) and error checking, similar to the virtual commander.

The goal here is for the arbotix to simply act as a servo controller for the AX12s with the RPI doing all of my IK calculations.

I was just wondering as to the feasibility of it as I have little experience with communication and have been using my hexapod as a learning platform (I love it to bits).

Also, would it be possible for the arbotix to also read the servo positions from all the AX12s at the same 60Hz? This is where I am doubting its capabilities due to the baud rate but want a second opinion :)

Thanks for any help! :tongue::veryhappy:

KevinO
02-16-2016, 07:31 PM
You might want to look at how the USB2AX does it. I ended up using that for all my projects that have onboard computers.

Zenta
02-17-2016, 12:42 AM
Hi,
You forgot a ";" in your signature..:tongue:

KurtEck
02-17-2016, 09:28 AM
As Kevin mentioned you can look at how Linux boxes talk to the USB2AX. Likewise to the Arbotix Pro.

Short answer is you are free to setup your communications however you like.

General description of how these servo controllers work:

they basically wait for standard dynamixel serial packets from the host, as described in the Robotis Manuals (http://support.robotis.com/en/techsupport_eng.htm#product/dynamixel/ax_series/dxl_ax_actuator.htm),
Which look like: ff ff <id> <len> <instruction> <params...> <checksum>