PDA

View Full Version : Choosing the right material for robot skeleton/chassis

PeterOeC
02-20-2016, 11:48 AM
Hey forum.

I'm new to building robots, and I need to know from someone with experience.

I want to build a basic bluetooth-controlled driving robot build on Arduino or Raspberry Pi, with wheels, motor, and different kind of sensors.
Basically a RC car that I can put more sensors on step wise as I go. :-)
The length of it could be from 20 cm up to one meter.

What are the skeleton/chassis of a rover/wheel based robot typically made from?
I've heard of some people using balsa wood, others aluminum, and others plastic.

I do not own a 3D printer.

It would be nice if the material has the following properties (prioritized):
- Reconfigurable (To be able to mount sensors on it, and take them off or replace them. This might not be cheap...)
- If it is not reconfiguable it would be nice if it's cheap.
- Lightweight so the wheels does not break and so the moter can push it forward.

Which materials does people use for robots of this type in the beginning?
Could you suggest some different materials and a list pros and cons of each?

Thank you in advance! :)

jwatte
02-20-2016, 06:43 PM
The easiest thing to do is to buy an existing chassis. The Dagu Wild Thumper for example is easy to build on (has lots of holes etc,) comes with the necessary motors/wheels/suspension, and uses "tank steering" which is the easiest to work with.

A lot of people also buy an R/C car, remove the decorative top, and then start adding things to it. This works better with the bigger, more "modular" R/C cars; the smaller, cheaper, cars are sometimes a bit too much "all in one" to allow for easy modding.

tician
02-20-2016, 07:35 PM