PDA

View Full Version : Communication between two arduino boards via Xbee

Thalvus
03-21-2016, 01:28 PM
Hello all,
Thank you for viewing first of all,
and if you reply, even more thanks.

I have been "working" on a project for a while now, and have some success with it. Unfortunately, I really only know how to build, which means that this project is mechanically sound. I have some knowledge of the Arduino programming language, but not enough to actually do anything with. Which is why I made this post. I was wondering if anyone had extensive knowledge on arduino-to-arduino communication through xbee, and could put it on an understandable level. Pretty much what I am looking for is an example where you push a button on one arduino, the other arduino completes an action.

As for the project, it is supposed to use 2 series 2 Xbee's for communication between the boards, if thats any help. Any other details on the project will be posted on an alternate discussion board.

Again, thank you for viewing.

jwatte
03-21-2016, 01:48 PM
If you look at the Serial class, if you hook up the Xbees correctly (note the 3.3V requirement!) then what you write on one end with Serial.write() shows up on the other end as Serial.read()
If you just define that one Arduino sends a "1" when pressing the button, then the other end just needs to wait for a "1" to come in on Serial.read().

Note that the Arduino Uno only has one serial port, and uses that serial port for programming the chip, which will conflict with the Xbee usage. Thus, I'd recommend using an Arduino Leonardo, where the serial port is free (because it programs over the built-in USB.)
Another option is to use Teensy 3 boards instead -- they have multiple serial ports, and none of them conflict with programming.

Assuming you have configured your Xbees correctly, the code for the sender is very simple. Something like:

uint32_t lastButtonTime;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(38400); // or whatever speed you use