PDA

View Full Version : [Question(s)] DPDT 3-Position Switch On-Off-Charge Wiring

_ADAM_
06-02-2016, 05:38 PM
Hi,

I want to use a DPDT 3-position switch to do On-Off-Charge wiring. In the diagram below, Main would go to the robot electronics and Charge would go to a dangling female power cable so that the battery could be charged without disconnecting anything. Just flip the switch and charge.

I'm not an expert on electronics... it would be great if someone can tell me whether this wiring is correct or not. I don't want to smoke something or start a fire! :(

http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/gallery/files/1/4/1/9/6/dpdt_3-position_switch_on-off-charge_wiring.jpg

Brooks
06-02-2016, 06:05 PM
There's no need to switch both positive and negative. I would tie the negatives together, separately from the switch, and switch just the +'s. So a single-pole switch would be adequate. If you end up with a double-pole switch, bridge each pole of the switch so the current is shared across the poles of the switch.

Keep in mind that if you want to use a balance changer you'll want to provide access to the battery's balance connector.

Also keep in mind that you REALLY don't want to charge the battery while it's in your machine. Firstly you can't see the battery if it develops problems, and secondly if it catches fire it will damage your machine. RC enthusiasts typically remove the battery and charge it while in a ceramic flower pot or something that you can readily pick up and run out the front door with...

KevinO
06-02-2016, 08:01 PM
Also keep in mind that you REALLY don't want to charge the battery while it's in your machine. Firstly you can't see the battery if it develops problems, and secondly if it catches fire it will damage your machine. RC enthusiasts typically remove the battery and charge it while in a ceramic flower pot or something that you can readily pick up and run out the front door with...