PDA

View Full Version : Power regulators



shobley
02-16-2007, 07:53 AM
Certain parts of the robot I'm building require different voltages (12V source) - the part that drives the ultra-important flashing lights is only 3 volts. I've seen power regulators (3 prong square black things) and wondered how they worked.

Is this something I can just hook up to give me the 3 and 5 volts I need?

Dave
02-16-2007, 12:46 PM
You're in luck! We've got three flavors of voltage regulators, which are being added to the catalog as I type this. We've got 5V, 1.5V-13V Adjustable, and 3.3V regulators. Unfortunately, the manufacturer is out of stock of the 3.3V right now, so that will be coming soon. Simple 3 pin plug and play design (Vin, Vout, Gnd). Conveniently enough, the pins fit right into the female end of a standard servo cable. This way you can add leads to the regulator if you don't want to solder it to anything. They cost 15 bucks apiece.

The pages aren't up in our catalog as of this moment, but I'll post here as soon as they are.

Dave
02-16-2007, 06:09 PM
Booyah.

http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/c/3088-Voltage-Regulators.aspx

bbonilla
03-30-2007, 07:35 PM
Hey guys this is what I use for my robot, it's all the power that I need. Very cool devices.http://roboticsgroup.com/products.asp?id=22

Alex
04-02-2007, 11:59 AM
awesome bbonilla! Thanks for the link:)