PDA

View Full Version : patenting White box/Front line Robotics robot form

asbrandsson
02-24-2007, 01:24 PM
Hello,

I was reading some articles on Front Line Robotics/White Box Robotics trying to put a patent on the style of Robot that they build- using PC parts.

I was wondering if there is any truth to this?

Asbrandsson

Alex
02-26-2007, 09:03 AM
I haven't heard anything about it, but I find it pretty hard to put a patent on something like this. I'd have to take a look at the writeup to see just what they are trying to patent though before I can say anything. Where did you come across this information?

Dave
02-26-2007, 10:25 AM
I'm no patent lawyer, but I think they'd have to be a bit more specific than that. On the other hand, patent laws are being loosened every day to allow things like mathematical algorithms and even bits of the human genome to be patented.

Speaking of patents, Google has just unleashed a new feature for the information-craving masses.

Google Patent Search (http://www.google.com/patents)

Just punch in something like "apple peeler" or "robot" or "neural ganglia" or "contraceptive" and prepare to be inundated with more esoteric jargon than you know what to do with!

billblack
03-28-2007, 08:17 PM
I'm not a big fan of the patent office. Some of the things that they allow patents to be filed on are...surprising...to say the very least. It does make one wonder what kind of education patent office personnel would need. Where do you advertise for someone capable of understanding the jargon and B.S. that is used in patent applications?
Evolution Robotics might have "prior art" on this one, with the ER1 laptop-based machine they sold until a couple of years ago.

Alex
03-29-2007, 10:11 AM
Yeah, I'd like to know where this information came from. I looked around a little bit about it, but didn't really have the time to look too deep.

It would surprise me one bit though. It is really messed up some of the patents that slide through.