PDA

View Full Version : 4-Motore Servo Kit and Hitec's HSR-5995TG



shunt2000
04-03-2007, 09:46 AM
Hi,

I have two Hitec HSR-5995TG servos (high-torque) servos that I would like to control with the 4-Motore Servo Kit. Do you know if there would be any trouble doing this before I buy one?

Thanks!

Shawn

Alex
04-05-2007, 03:45 PM
I'd actually suggest against using the HSR-5995TG servos with the PhidgetServo Controller. They draw a bit too much current for that controller to handle adequately without the possibility of damage to the board.

Dave's looking into a good board to power those beefy servos.

Dave
04-05-2007, 04:05 PM
Yeah, the main drawback of the Phidget servo controller is that it will cut out if the servos are drawing too much current. I would recommend one of the Pololu servo controllers, because the trace that delivers power to the servos is not connected to the rest of the circuit. Thus, the amount of current your servos can draw is mainly limited by your battery, power supply, hamster wheel, or whatever you're using to power the servos.

shunt2000
04-07-2007, 06:16 AM
Thank you very much for the replies and suggestion.

Shawn

theshaolinmonkey
04-14-2007, 11:54 PM
I am also looking at the HSR-5995TG servos. I need them because the project im working on needs some real torque.

My whole project however is based on using the phidget 4 servo controller and the the phidget libraries. If i cant use the phidget 4 servo controller for these servos ... is there another alternative servo controller that still allows me to use the phidget libraries?

Any help would be appreciated.

Eric

Alex
04-16-2007, 11:10 AM
The only servo controllers that work with the Phidget Libraries are Phidget Servo Controllers, so the short answer is no. However, there always is the option of providing power to the servos directly. All you really need the Phidget servo controller for is to send the control signal to the servo.

To provide power to servos directly:

You will need to purchase an adjustable voltage supply (All Electronics Corp. at www.allelectronics.com (http://www.allelectronics.com/) is an excellent and affordable source for these kinds of components). What size depends on the level of current and voltage your servos require

Some of the higher torque servos come with a Y-Splitter cable in the box. If so, you'll need to modify it in the following manner:

- Join all the black leads together and connect to the power supply negative side

- Leave all signal (usually white or yellow) leads as they are.

- Join all the red leads together, but cut and remove the red wires between each Y-splitter and the 4-motor controller board. Connect the joined leads to the power supply positive side.

However, for those that don't have a Y-splitter, you can either purchase one (http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store/p/3305-Hitec-Servo-Y-Adapter-11-.aspx) or you'll have to cut your servo wires up a bit. All you would have to do is cut the red cable going to the servo and connect it to the power supply positive side, and cut the black cable and connect it to the power supply negative side.


I know this isn't the most elegant solution, but doing this allows you to still use the awesome Phidget libraries!

Dave
04-16-2007, 03:46 PM
I just want to clarify one point from Alex's post. The ground leads of the servos and power supply must be tied into to the ground on your servo controller. Connect the positive lead of your power supply directly to the servo, and tie all of the grounds together.

I've prepared a crude yet effective illustration showing the way that I prefer to do this:
http://www.trossenrobotics.com/images/forums/servopower.png
I use a Y splitter. I also spliced a servo connector onto my power supply so it can plug directly into said Y splitter. Then all you have to do is cut the positive lead on the end of the splitter that plugs into your servo controller. There you have it.

Oh, almost forgot. DON'T RUN POWER TO YOUR SERVO WITHOUT FIRST PROVIDING IT WITH A CONTROL SIGNAL. I was running the HS-805BB servo on our CrustCrawler arm using this method, but I plugged the power in before plugging the cable into the servo controller, and the arm wigged out and started twitching and then slammed down onto the table. My hand was between the arm and the table. Ouch.

Edit: I tried powering up a 5995 without a control signal and it just held whatever position it was at when power was applied. A 475HB twitched a bit, but that was all. Take these findings however you want.

rahul_m1984
05-14-2007, 01:04 PM
Hi,
I am trying to control dihgital Hitech HSR-5995TG servo motors using PIC16F84A using serial port. The circuit I am using is pasted below. I am separately providing a 7 V dc supply to the supply leads of the motor. But it is not working. There are at times a few random motion of the motor. With the same circuit I tried to control Hitec HS322-HD and it was done successfully. Can anyone suggest what may be the problem.
Please respond as soon as possible as i need to complete my project in the next two days and this is the only deadlock left.
Thanks in advance

file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/Rahul2/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image002.jpg

Alex
05-14-2007, 01:50 PM
Could you please edit your post and try uploading your JPEG? I'm not sure if the [IMG] tags work correctly

rahul_m1984
05-14-2007, 08:35 PM
The circuit I used mentioned in the post above is given as attachment

The PIC BASIC Pro code I used is:


Include "modedefs.bas" ' Include serial modes

si var PORTA.0 ' Set portA.0 as our serial input pin
pos var byte ' Define our storage location for the servo position information.
servo var byte ' Define our storage location for the servo number to move.
cont var byte ' Define a variable to hold the count.
portb = 0
trisb = 0 ' Make all of port B outputs to send position information to each servo.

start:
serin si,N2400,servo,pos ' Get the servo# and position for that servo.
for cont = 0 to 50
pulsout servo,pos ' Send servo# ? to position ?.
pause 15 ' Wait 15 ms.
next cont ' Next pulse.
goto start ' Return to get more serial input.


and the corresponding hex code is


:1000000096284F20A4004B200C080D0403199128BA
:100010008B2084132408800664000E280F288C0A85
:1000200003198D0F0C2880069128640025200318E1
:100030001528302008308F00312025208E0C2028F4
:100040008F0B1C2831200E08080026088400240885
:10005000841780048413000523192406FF3E08003A
:100060002317230D06398C003F208D008C0A3F207A
:10007000231F6F2823138C00023086206F28003046
:100080008A000C08820701347534033415340034B7
:100090003C340C34D934FF3A8417800591289400FD
:1000A000063094190530840000308A00140807399E
:1000B00082070134023404340834103420344034CC
:1000C00080348F018E00FF308E07031C8F07031CC6
:1000D000912803308D00DF306F2063288D01E83ECA
:1000E0008C008D09FC30031C78288C0703187528B8
:1000F0008C0764008D0F75280C187E288C1C8228B4
:1001000000008228080003108D0C8C0CFF3E0318A1
:1001100083280C0891288C098D098C0A03198D0AF3
:1001200008008313031383126400080083168601FA
:1001300083120530A6000130A4000430A30015206E
:10014000AA001520A900A801640033302802031872
:10015000B22829088C008D012A0801200F30612067
:06016000A80FA428992855
:02400E00F53F7C
:00000001FF

If any modification in the code is required i possible plz send the HEX code also as my PIC BASIC Pro compiler has expired.


The site from where I used these information is http://www.rentron.com/SerialServo.htm
http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/%3Ca%20href=%22http://picasaweb.google.com/rahul.m1984/Circuit02/photo#5064592965090974658%22%3E%3Cimg%20src=%22htt p://lh5.google.com/image/rahul.m1984/RkkMd-gwm8I/AAAAAAAAAA0/2hX9i9pD9v4/s144/untitled.JPG%22%20/%3E%3C/a%3E

Dave
05-15-2007, 10:53 AM
I am trying to control digital Hitech HSR-5995TG servo motors using PIC16F84A using serial port. The circuit I am using is pasted below. I am separately providing a 7 V dc supply to the supply leads of the motor. But it is not working. There are at times a few random motion of the motor. With the same circuit I tried to control Hitec HS322-HD and it was done successfully.
How are you connecting the 7V supply? Make sure you have a common ground. If the ground lead on your power supply isn't connected to the servo and the pic circuit, you'll just get random twitches from the servo.