PDA

View Full Version : interface cable



chocobot
04-08-2007, 02:16 AM
my laptop does not have the port to download my robo -in other words,there is not interface cable plug on my laptop...help!

Dave
04-09-2007, 11:55 AM
Does your robot have a 9-pin serial connector? Sounds like you need a usb-to-serial adapter. A quick Google search for "usb to serial adapter" turned up this:
http://www.usbgear.com/computer_cable_details.cfm?sku=765162&cats=199&catid=199%2C601%2C461

chocobot
04-09-2007, 01:30 PM
yes a 9 pin...

BauerMECH
04-10-2007, 08:38 AM
Yes, Dave's right. However, not all USB>Serial adapters are created equal. I initially picked one up at radioshack and didn't work correctly 20-some % of the time. Just enough to be annoying. It just so happens that the adapter that is included w/ the Kondo RCB-03 mirocontroller works flawlessly w/ the RN-1. However, they're not so easy to come by.

chocobot
04-10-2007, 11:04 AM
So What To Do?