Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 129

Thread: The Robotis TurtleBot3

  1. #21

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    Fusion 360 is free for hobbyists, and is an awesome 3D mechanical CAD package.
    Once you've built your parts, you can generate them in STL, or as 2D vectors for laser cutting, or you can define all your toolpaths (2D and 3D) for milling.
    It's a one-stop robot-making shop!

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ಠ_ಠ
    Posts
    2,282
    Images
    27
    Rep Power
    275

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    I'm just going to stick with the BuildOne Deluxe and some HobbyKing ABS. I've got an old RPi-B that is not doing anything, so it will go in the basement with the BuildOne and MegaBatt (4S 20Ah LiFePO4) to provide a print server, print video monitoring, and battery backup.
    Please pardon the pedantry... and the profanity... and the convoluted speech pattern...
    "You have failed me, Brain!"
    bleh

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kansas City, MO
    Posts
    167
    Images
    39
    Rep Power
    41

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    I thought the question was can you use OnShape to create .STL files because that was where the turtlebot3 files where? Maybe I misunderstood the question but the answer is yes. OnShape is also free to hobbyist.

    https://www.onshape.com/

  4. #24

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    Thanks Gort,

    Yes - I was asking if you could download stuff from onShape as you mentioned that is where Robotis has the turtlebot3 files.

    I have not done very many prints lately... But for example if I went with their Tank design it looked like I would be printing for a long time... So also wondered if they also were setup to be able to order the parts.

    Again I have not made up my mind what I am going to do yet...

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kansas City, MO
    Posts
    167
    Images
    39
    Rep Power
    41

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    That is a good idea! Setup a shop on Shapeways to print out turtlebot3 parts!

  6. #26

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    It looks like the base plate is some hole-ey modular monstrosity that you screw together two or more of, so the "part list" may be only one...
    And, if so, buying the part from Robotis is very likely much cheaper, because injection molding beats 3D printing for large runs.

    Also, what is the OpenCR Cortex M7 board? Google fails.
    Looks like a new Robotis board perhaps? But not available in stores yet?
    Last edited by jwatte; 06-04-2017 at 12:34 PM.

  7. #27

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    Yep - As you said I would imagine having several of them built by injection molding would be a lot cheaper than 3d.

    As for the Open CR board: There is more information up at: http://turtlebot3.readthedocs.io/en/...ix_opencr.html

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kansas City, MO
    Posts
    167
    Images
    39
    Rep Power
    41

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    Yes, the OpenCR is a new board from Robotis. It was design to work with the Raspberry Pi and the Arduino. It is also paired with the new XL430 servo.

    http://mike-ibioloid.blogspot.com/20...430-servo.html

    http://mike-ibioloid.blogspot.com/se...&max-results=5

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kansas City, MO
    Posts
    167
    Images
    39
    Rep Power
    41

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image1.jpg 
Views:	110 
Size:	69.7 KB 
ID:	7044 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image2.jpg 
Views:	117 
Size:	118.3 KB 
ID:	7045Click image for larger version. 

Name:	opencr.jpg 
Views:	116 
Size:	106.0 KB 
ID:	7046

  10. #30

    Re: The Robotis TurtleBot3

    I still have not decided if/which way I will go on this. As I mentioned, I could simply go with existing Rover (Lynxmotion or Orion) and use one (or two?) Roboclaws (I picked up one of their current 7amp version, may pick up 15...), plus ...

    Or either the Robotis or Trossen versions. Sure wish we would hear more about the Trossen plans...

    Interesting tidbit that was posted on the PJRC(Teensy forum), That Intel is discontinuing the Galileo, Edison and Joule boards.... So wonder what both Robotis and Trossen are going to do as replacement:

    One posting about this is up at: https://hardware.slashdot.org/story/...lopment-boards

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Robotis OpenCM9.04 need help.
    By ErikVH in forum Robot Computers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-19-2014, 10:25 AM
  2. Robotis Task
    By 2fast4-u in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2014, 06:36 PM
  3. Robotis OpenCM9.04 need help.
    By Hari in forum Robot Computers
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 03-10-2014, 11:21 AM
  4. The New Robotis CM-900 board is now out!!!
    By Gort in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-16-2013, 10:42 AM
  5. Robotis CM-700 Shell ?
    By Ron in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-15-2012, 06:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •