Thread: Quiz Show Scoring System

1. Quiz Show Scoring System

For the better part of the last couple months, I have been using Phidgets to create a new Scoring System for a quiz show production at my workplace.

A little background :

I am a systems engineer for WOSU Public Media out of Columbus, Ohio.

We are now in the 25th year of producing a high school quiz show called In The Know. In the Know is a quiz show consisting of two teams (comprised of local high school students) answering trivia questions and accruing points. Toward the end of the season, there is a playoff system that results in scholarships being awarded to the winning teams.

How Phidgets are incorporated :

About a year ago, it was decided that the production of In the Know was going to be relocated to our new [email protected] Facility. In this move, the producers wanted to upgrade the look and feel of the set/design/logos. In all of the redevelopment, it was apparent that a new scoring system was necessary. It was time to retire the commodore 64 that had been in operation for almost 20 years.

There was a problem, though. A new scoring system, as purchased from people that do that kind of thing, was expected to cost upwards of $15,000. And that number did not even include the new set pieces. That cost was simply hardware and software. That is when I was approached.

I began by tearing apart keyboards to create an improvised input system. After doing some Internet research on computer relay control, I came across Phidgets. They did exactly what I wanted and were able to handle both input and output. Additionally, I would be able to program the Phidgets with Visual Basic 6 (my most understood language).

Parts List :

1 PhidgetTextLCD
    4 Dual Relay Control Boards
    4 Lowe's Grey Box Power Boxes
    Conduit to Connect Power boxes
    A MILE of wiring
    8 "easy" buttons
    4 Power Bricks (to power relays and illuminate set pieces)