Trossen Distance Sensor  Top Banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sentient Turret

Sentient Turret

Hi all this is my first project that I have done with equipment from Trossen Robotics. Basically how it all started is I live in South Africa probably one of the worst countries in the world right now when it comes to crime! One of my friends is a distributer of PepperBall self-defense systems. So he said he wanted to build some sort of automated gun. And well so I said I would have a look and then I found Trossen online and it all started.

The idea was for a gun turret that could operate in two modes one manual where you would move your mouse over the video feed and click to shoot. So the gun would get its target coordinates from your cursor. And the other to track the object it self and if the object either went into a restricted area or got too close it will shoot.

So I got some servos and the Phidgets 4 x servo controller board, bend and twisted some aluminum developed some software all in C# and there you go an automated gun turret!

I will update this soon with more pictures and some video of it actually working.

Here is a very quick video of it in a bit of action:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gaAHz8ajtKs

This is a quick test to calibrate the firing servo there is no ammunition in the gun and the cylinder was used and was empty by shot two. But it worked so that part is okay. But I will update the fire mechanism with a solenoid soon.

Hope you guys will like it. Gerhard
    Last edited by ekoos7; 12-06-2007 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Add video

2. Re: Sentient Turret

Did you use code that you wrote to handle the video or is that just another application? If it's some other app, how did you get the coordinates of the mouse for that window?

Cool project!

Re: Sentient Turret (To - fish123456)

Quote Originally Posted by fish123456 View Post
    Did you use code that you wrote to...