Page 1 of 20 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: Pico-ITX based Johnny 5

Images

Pico-ITX based Johnny 5

This is a project that I've been working on for a couple of months, but have wanted to do since I was 5 years old (when I saw the first Short Circuit movie, I fell in love). The ongoing project is being documented on My Blog here at Trossen Robotics.

Johnny 5 is alive!

Project Goals:

I wanted to create a remotely controlled robot modeled after the infamous Johnny 5. I saw the base kit that Lynxmotion offered and knew it would provide the best platform. Originally I was just going to have a Bluetooth wireless link and have a wireless video camera sending back to a small hand held TV, however after seeing the pico-itx formfactor cpu/motherboards, I wanted to take it further.

So, I set out to build a Johnny 5 type robot controlled via RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) session over my wifi network, complete with onboard PC running a Windows OS and vision processing.

Materials/Parts List:

Parts:

Lynxmotion Servo Erector Set (Johnny 5 kit)
    SES Electronics mount
    Pan/Tilt assembly for head
    2x RC shock assemblies
    Traxxis steering blocks
    Various standoffs/hardware

Batteries:
    7.2v NiMh 2800mAh Battery- Gearhead motors for drivetrain
    6.0v NiMh 2800mAh Battery- Servos/SSC-32
    9.6v NiMh 4200mAh Battery- Pico-ITX

Electronics:
    SSC-32 Servo Controller
    Sabertooth 2x5 Motor Controller
    VIA EPIA PX1000G Pico-ITX Mainboard w/ C7 1ghz cpu
    1gb DDR2-667
    60w Pico-PSU
    120gb sata 2.5" laptop hard drive
    2x 640x480 VGA webcams
    USB 802.11g wifi adapter

Software:
    Windows XP Pro- Stipped down using nLite
    SEQ SSC-32 Sequencer
    Roborealm

Construction:

I'm never satisfied running stock equipment, and the J5 did not provide enough space for me to add everything I wanted to. So, I set out to make some changes. For reference, heres the stock Johnny 5 kit, picture credited to Jim @ Lynxmotion: