Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New To Robotics And Programming

1. New To Robotics And Programming

Hi,
    I am completely new to all of the robotics scene. I have been searching the web for the past year trying to find a good starting point for my ugv project. Heres a little background info on what i know. I have purchase a BSC2 Education Kit from parallax thinking that would be my start, but after going halfway through the program I quickly realize that its lacking in a lot of ways. So i have built basic circuitry and some programming. I have some experience in html and currently working on some php stuff. With that out of the way i want to learn a language that will help me with robotics as well as other apps down the road. I don't plan to have this conquered over night but this is going to be a long term project for me.

Goal: Learn a language that will carry over and be very flexible for development
    Learn how to build more complex circuitry
    To build a ugv using either a window or Linux x86 platform
    To be able to track this through the WWW
    To be able to issue new commands or way points via WWW
    To be able to steam video and audio as well as overlay info on video
    To be able to primarily us WiFi as primary form of communication and maybe packet ham as a backup.

I know this is an ambitious project but something that might be able to help me get started say a good book to buy, post pertaining to the goal mentioned, or a inexpensive kit. I'm not afraid to learn. I build my own comp and servers. I have web hosted before and not afraid to get a little dirty any help will be deeply appreciated.

2. Re: New To Robotics And Programming

Hello,

I bought a Robonova-1 a while ago and I think that it is an excellent way to get into Robotics.

1) The basic kit can expand out as far as you are willing to take it.

2) You can expand it out in little steps and each step is as entertaining as the last.