Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Away to track an object motion.

1. Smile Away to track an object motion.

I belive that my title says it all. I wanted to know the best way to track an object such as a finger and print the values out to a computer. I was researching alittle about magnetic sensors and wanted to know if I could use a magnetic sensor to get the position of objects in 3d space and track their motion.

Images

Re: Away to track an object motion.

I'm starting to sound like a broken record but: Roborealm can do this.

3. Re: Away to track an object motion.

Thats not quite what I'm after. I'm trying to capture the motion of objects. I am a 3d modeler, and I do freelance graphics works. what I want is to track an object such as a finger. track the rotation and the distance and save the values to the computer. and use the values to move a cg finger. Basically an alternative to motion capture.

4. Re: Away to track an object motion.

I had one small Idea and I didn't know if it would work. I anted to place a distance sensor and a rotary sensor on every major joint and use that to triangulate a persons movements.

Images

Not quite sure of a solution using that method then, sorry.

Modern motion capture uses the same basic concept of the roborealm tracking video I just posted... I'm at a loss as to how you could do it effectively without a camera input. Magnetic sensors just don't seem like they would provide the accuracy or planes of movement that a camera can.

It's possible you could do it with a cluster of sensors such as an electronic compass, gyro and accelerometer combination... but how you would tie them all together and produce an accurate tracking program is beyond me.

6. Re: Away to track an object motion.