Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Software Newbie

1. Software Newbie

Should I take on the challenge of Visual Basic
    or the Microsoft robotics software to work with Phidgets.
    I'm a REAL Newbie- Bottom Line.
    I've played with Vex easyC, So I need the kindergarden stuff.
    Thanks

Images

Re: Software Newbie

Defiantly Visual Basic. Knowing languages like Visual Basic, C++, C#, ect. Are more valuable than learning any program. With programing lang you can use them on just about any robot and create your own programs. I suggest VB because it is a easy lang to learn and one of the most usefull.

I'd go the C# route because it will put you in a position to graduate to C++. It's also more useful for web programming, imho.

4. Re: Software Newbie

I downloaded Visual Basics express, Is this the correct version?
    It was free and has a Tutorial on how to learn it.
    I don't need alot of programming, Just need to be able to interact with the Phidgets.
    I'm going to start a thread describing what I'm trying to do, And this way I can get all the help in one spot.
    Thank you very much for the help.
    Calvin

Visual Basic Express will do the job for you, yes.

The express version of C# is also free from Microsoft.

Images

If you're a newbie and have no experience in programming, don't go near MSRS. Even experienced programmers have difficulties with it. It's an incredibly powerful platform, but the learning curve for a beginning programmer is far too great to even bother with.

You can go with either C# or VB Express. Either one will do a nice job with Phidgets.

�In the long history of humankind (and animal kind, too) those who learned to collaborate and improvise most effectively have prevailed�
    - Charles Darwin

Quote Originally Posted by Adrenalynn View Post
    I'd go the C# route because it will put you in a position to graduate to C++. It's also more useful for web programming, imho.