Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Which kit

Images

Which kit

OK, as most of you know by now I am just getting started with bots. I really like the idea of the Mech Wars. It provides me with a goal and a dead line and an excuse to go across the country next June (like I don't do that a few times a year anyway).
    So, I am looking at a couple of kits to get me started and although I plan to do a bit more research on my own, thought I would toss the question out there ... which kit is the better to start with?
    I am looking at the Bioloid and the biped Scout. Have I missed anything?
    I like the Scout and the servo erector set with the HS-5645 servos and am leaning that way.
    Since time is critical I would like to start with a kit ... no time to re-invent the wheel.
    Since weight is a critical issue ... I will need strong servos.
    Since all the details are not nailed down ... flexibility in design will be critical.
    All suggestions and opinions are appreciated!
    Ed

Re: Which kit

I have the bioloid kit, and I'm quite happy with it. The main feature that drove me to it was the ability to get feedback from the servos. Also, the daisy-chain wiring scheme will simplify the wiring greatly.

While I have not actually built a walker of any type, I have to imagine that trying to walk without position and torque feedback would be like climbing stairs numbed from the neck down. The HS-5645 don't appear to have any feedback at all.

Images

Unfortunately if you're going with a Lynxmotion SES based system, the SES alone is pretty heavy. I believe the scout has a hard enough time walking with just a battery as payload using 5645's, let alone once you add a camera and weapons.

Any 'hitec type' servo based 5dof+ walker is probably going to have to be running 5990TGs to be effective.

Images

I don't own any kits but my own made bots, but I can definately advise the Bioloid kit.
    Seems to put a tick at every point on your list.