Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Control Solutions

Control Solutions

There are several people working on a Mech, so I was wondering what others were using for their MCU's, Processing, etc? I'm a Mechanical Engineer by education and a construction planner by work, so sparky boxes aren't my specialty.

I was planning on using a Lynxmotion BotBoard 1 carrying an Basic Atom Pro and a PS2 controller for the User-Interface. I've spent about 12-13 hours trying to program it, and I have yet to be able to get the PS2 controller to talk to the Atom. Lynx claims there are some mods you have to make the board, but so far nothing has worked.

I'm now thinking about going wireless serial to a PIC 16F877 (or similar) and then just using serial servo controller to manipulate the servos, but I'm curious how others are planning to accomplish it.

-Matt-

Images

Re: Control Solutions

User/Control PC running C# Joystick interface program >> Send commands over wifi to socket server running on onboard Pico-ITX >> Pico runs a c# program for walking gaits, firing and control interface >> USB Bioloid Bus Board >> AX-12 servos.

Thats how it'll work in theory. Brushing up on my C# coding skills while I wait for more parts for my Mech.

I too am a ME by training. The PS2 controller is an interesting controller. It is not an easy controller to interface to microcontrollers. The proper timing for reliable is communication back and forth between them is difficult to get right because of when you have to read data bits with respect to clock timing leading edges. Some people get it figured out, and other don't, and a lot of it has to do with the choice of microcontrollers, understanding exactly how the commands work with respect to timing, and how the programs are written.