Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Has anyone ever used this controller?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Weedsport NY
    Posts
    502
    Images
    9
    Rep Power
    52

    Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Has anyone ever used THIS controller? I am thinking of buying one but I have never heard of them or used them. Any info would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    173

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Honestly, I held one in my hand wondering how it was selling for more than two times the cost of an SSC32 for half the channels and 3/4 the feature set. I never could figure it out, so it didn't stay in my lab for long...
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Weedsport NY
    Posts
    502
    Images
    9
    Rep Power
    52

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    It says you ServoCenters may be chained together to control up to 256 RC servos. I kind of like the sound of that.

    http://tech.yostengineering.com/servoFolder

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    138

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Quote Originally Posted by Droid Works View Post
    It says you ServoCenters may be chained together to control up to 256 RC servos. I kind of like the sound of that.

    http://tech.yostengineering.com/servoFolder
    Same can be done with most serial controllers, I believe the SSC-32 as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    173

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    For my money, just slap another atmel in a piece of scrap board and chain six SSC-32's through it... 192 servos is probably "enough" - if it's not, throw another $10 part at it and chain another six. If ~400 servos isn't enough, throw another $10 part at it and get another hundred and change.

    I'd rather spend $240 + $10 = $250 than $1080

    No direct chaining that I'm aware of on the SSC32, Tybs. One per serial port. But a microcontroller with 3-7 serial ports is trivial to come by and implement.
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Weedsport NY
    Posts
    502
    Images
    9
    Rep Power
    52

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Can the ssc-32 be chained? I have never heard or seen anyone who has done it. If so where can I find the info on how to do it. I have a few ssc-32s and bot boards laying around.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    138

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrenalynn View Post

    No direct chaining that I'm aware of on the SSC32, Tybs. One per serial port. But a microcontroller with 3-7 serial ports is trivial to come by and implement.

    Weird, Jim's previous SSC's could be daisy chained (I know because my original Hex2 did it) so I assumed his SSC-32 could do the same. You chained them via the onboard serial jumpers.

    In the very least if you didnt want to make your own circuit... a Botboard + 8 SSC-32s could be wired up and still be cheap bang-for-buck.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Weedsport NY
    Posts
    502
    Images
    9
    Rep Power
    52

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Cool I am going to get to work on it. Its not usb but I can buy an adapter so I can use it with my pico.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    138

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Your pico has a serial port too

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Weedsport NY
    Posts
    502
    Images
    9
    Rep Power
    52

    Re: Has anyone ever used this controller?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tyberius View Post
    Your pico has a serial port too
    Not mine, http://www.logicsupply.com/products/artigo
    I could add one but it would ruin the look of my case. Looks are going to be a big part of the bot I am working on currently.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Programing the Parallax Servo Controller (USB)
    By MinyFly92 in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-10-2008, 08:02 AM
  2. Contest Entry Digital Slot Car Controller
    By wrighthobbies in forum Project Showcase
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-21-2007, 01:05 PM
  3. Fast Spinning DC Motor + Controller
    By BillW in forum DYNAMIXEL & Robot Actuators
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2007, 03:12 PM
  4. Victor 884 Speed Controller
    By JFCastellanos in forum DYNAMIXEL & Robot Actuators
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 11:16 AM
  5. Controlling a MAXI Motor Controller
    By shobley in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •