Thread: Help for beginner- Humanoid

1. Help for beginner- Humanoid

I am new to humanoid robotics but have been building combat robots since the age of 13 (I am now 20). I have begun getting bored of combat robotics and hope that humanoid robotics will allow me to expand my knowledge. I am very strong with the mechanical aspects of robotics but am kinda weak when it comes to software. I have done a lot of research into the various humanoid kits available and have narrowed down my possible choices to the Kondo KHR-2HV starter kit or the Hitec RoboNova kit with a few extras... ie. gyro, possible gripper, etc. It seems as though the Kondo humanoids are more advanced than many of their competitors but the broken english manuals turn me off. I feel that the Kondo kits wouldn't be the best starters as there manuals aren't the greatest. Are my above thoughts correct? I am hoping that people with more knowledge/experience can chime in with their opinions. I like the Hitec programming interface and feel the multiple choices of programming languages (Basic, RoboBasic, catch-and-play) will help me pick up the programming aspect very quickly. One other kit I haven't given too much thought to is the Bioloid kit, is this as advanced as either the RoboNova or Kondo? Sorry for the long winded post guys. Thanks in advance for any help!

Layton Guest

Re: Help for beginner- Humanoid

maybe you'll get lucky and Crabfu will do a video review of the KHR-1HV. Did you see his review for the Bioloid?

3. Re: Help for beginner- Humanoid