Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sensor Kit

Sensor Kit

I was wondering if something like a starter kit for sensors exists. Sort of like an educational kit that includes a couple of different kinds so as to give you a starting point if your unfamiliar with how some of them work and operate.

If no such thing exists is there a good place to read up on them? As I'm still pretty new to all this I'd like to get more of a grasp on how some of them work and can be implemented into robotics.

Rift

Images

Re: Sensor Kit

People yearn after this robotic dream, but you can't strip your life of all meaning, emotion and feeling and expect to function.

Images

Check out the phidget 8/8/8, you can pick it up and a couple of sensors for under $100. Phidgets features really good support, and works with a bunch of other software.

Enjoy.

DB

Just as a counter opinion: I don't like the phidgets capture board. Incredibly slow but incredibly over-priced.

Their sensors are cute for pre-packaged ease.
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

Ooo interesting links now my question would be how would I go about controlling these sensors? What kind of programs are they controlled by?

Also that Sensor Sampler kit what do you plug those up too?

Rift

Quote Originally Posted by Rift View Post
    Ooo interesting links now my question would be how would I go about controlling these sensors? What kind of programs are they controlled by?

Also that Sensor Sampler kit what do you plug those up too?

Rift
    Let me ask you a question

Do you have a robot?
    Dell Studio XPS Desktop, Windows Vista, 12 GB RAM, 2x 500 GB SATA RAID0 HDD, Intel i7 2.66Ghz Quad Core (4 cores, 8 virtual cores). The power that's needed... plus some!

RIBO Labs, Springing Robotic Development to a New Level

Yes actually I have 3 not sure what that has to do with anything tho. All of them came with programs to control them and only 1 has a sensor I have yet to learn how to use.

Rift

Images