Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: High precission axis

1. High precission axis

Heya!
    I'm new to robotics but my task is simple and I know some programming. I need to control an axis rotating in two dimensions (like a camera that can tilt and pan) from my PC software but there's a lot of pressure on the rotational speed and precission, the more the better.

Any help much apreciated!

Thanks!

Re: High precission axis

Welcome to the forum!

I'm afraid you don't give us a lot to go on here. How much weight will you be mounting on this pan-tilt head? What's your minimum desired rotational speed and precision? Space constraints? Budget?

The more information we have on your project, the more help we can all be.

Again - welcome to the forum!
    I Void Warranties�

3. Re: High precission axis

Hey A:
    Fair enough. What I want to do is to point a laser around. I'll probably use a heavier type of laser pen. It's for a video installation where it needs to follow movements synced to music so we're talking about a fairly rapid pace. I then also want to sync this to a video projection. I would guess that from a distance of a few meters I need to point within a radius of something like a centimeter. Is that doable? Money is flexible but I would prefer to end below 150$.

Thanks again.
    Last edited by bhenriksson; 11-11-2008 at 04:30 PM.

Thanks, Bhenriksson, that helps a bit.

Your budget may be a little low, but within your budget you could get 0.09deg pretty repeatably. You weight is really low which helps a bunch.

High-accuracy servos are pretty expensive. I'd probably start off with something like:

2x HS5645 Servos (60 degrees in 0.18sec, should be repeatable to something close to the 0.09deg) ~$110 total
    1x SSC-32 Servo Controller $40
    1x Pan/Tilt kit, no servos $10

Probably the "right" way to do it is with stepper motors. You'd be building your own brackets, programming is a lot tougher, and it'd probably blow your budget.
    I Void Warranties�