Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 43

Thread: Xbee and SSC32

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    Quote Originally Posted by Rudolph View Post
    Mmmmmm, pi. I have to ask if you did that on purpose.
    OMG! No. You'd have thought I would have noticed that! Wow. I'm going to have to give you +Rep. Sorry. No other option!


    Tybs - no disrespect, and you and I chatted about it. I just can't get behind unfiltered power...
    I Void Warranties�

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    The devil steals my soul when I go to San Bernardino
    Posts
    109
    Images
    2
    Rep Power
    41

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    ROFL

    I almost didn't even ask. The little bit I know of you so far I just figured that's the kind of thing you'd do on purpose. Like I do... hehehe
    Earth's got chinese food and microphones.
    Earth's got porno stars and ice cream cones...

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    South Sphincter Idaho
    Posts
    613
    Images
    104
    Rep Power
    65

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    I tried both ways, and wound up using the same method as Tyberius with a slight difference of resistor values, and an LED from pin 6 on the XBee in series with a 470 Ohm Res. to ground for a signal varification.
    Team Maggot---Mechs. "Bheka" (retired), "Maggot Mk.3(A)"
    " Keep your stick on the ice ".... Red Green

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    I wish I had... Seriously...

    I backed into the closest thing I could find on hand. I had a 150 Ohm, 180Ohm, and 100Ohm resistors easily handy. A 180 + 100 would give me about 3.55v, so I figured a 150 Ohm would have to be about right. I knew a 140 Ohm would yield 3v.

    It all worked fine on the breadboard. Now I pulled it all off and soldered it up on a perf-board, and it doesn't work. Nothing pops, regulator doesn't get hot, no output. I'm putting a solid 10v into it, and I can see that on my input end. Reading adjust or looking for shorts in-circuit is nigh-on impossible because of all those caps. I can see 'em charge up and discharge when I put my meter on them. Grrr. Getting perfs apart sucks too. I might just start again...
    I Void Warranties�

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    Quote Originally Posted by gdubb2 View Post
    I tried both ways, and wound up using the same method as Tyberius with a slight difference of resistor values, and an LED from pin 6 on the XBee in series with a 470 Ohm Res. to ground for a signal varification.
    Which "both ways" ? With the Sparkfun level match and with a couple resistors? Or are you saying you tried the 3.3v regulator with filtering and without filtering, and decided that a power supply is superior without filtering?

    Sorry - I'm cornfused.
    I Void Warranties�

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    South Sphincter Idaho
    Posts
    613
    Images
    104
    Rep Power
    65

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    First I tried the Sparkfun level converter. I had some issues with it, but it was probably me. Then I downloaded the 5 V. to 3.3 V interface schematic from Sparkfun, which came from Kronosrobotics. It's worked great for me, so I stayed with it. Just didn't feel like playing with the cute little things from Sparkfun any more. Although I have a few on hand if I change my mind.
    Team Maggot---Mechs. "Bheka" (retired), "Maggot Mk.3(A)"
    " Keep your stick on the ice ".... Red Green

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    Good to know! What kind of issues were you having with it? I haven't gotten any further than building it out yet, since my %#$%#$^# power supply board isn't putting out any power now that it's pretty. Should have left it ugly but working.
    I Void Warranties�

  8. Re: Xbee and SSC32

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrenalynn View Post
    OMG! No. You'd have thought I would have noticed that! Wow. I'm going to have to give you +Rep. Sorry. No other option!


    Tybs - no disrespect, and you and I chatted about it. I just can't get behind unfiltered power...
    When you talk about filtered vs. unfiltered, do you just mean putting capacitors on the voltage regulator to help even it out?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    Sorta. "Even it out" would be something of a misnomer. Yes - you want to catch transients (spikes and sags), but you also want to get rid of any ripple, catch any low or high frequency noise, etc.
    I Void Warranties�

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    139

    Re: Xbee and SSC32

    I'll say the following with a disclaimer (And Adrenalynn will still 'tisk' at me I know it):

    "If you do the following and burn up your hardware, I hold no responsibility. Proceed at your own risk."

    Now that said, I've actually been running a 2nd SSC-32 without a level converter on the TTL at all. The Xbee appears to be 5v tolerant on TTL, though I'm still using a 3.3v reg for input voltage as the Xbee is NOT in any way 5v tolerant for power. I tried this out after finding a thread on AVR freaks where a bunch of people were testing the Xbee's 5v TTL tolerance with success.

    That said- I'd only do this for experimentations or for a quick and dirty test circuit. For any important circuit (such as your control solution for your Mech Warfare bot), I'd recommend spending the money to setup a level convertor, just to play it safe.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •