Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Power supply

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    74

    Power supply

    My old benchtop supply is finally getting to be unreliable enough that it annoys me. Th regulation is pretty bad and it is just getting really old.

    I am getting a paycheck from a contract job and want to get a new power supply. I am considering this one:
    http://www.circuitspecialists.com/prod.itml/icOid/8770

    I am not dead set on it and would welcome suggestions for alternatives. The specs do meet what I want (0-30VDC, O-5A, %V @ 1A) for a reasonable price. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,356
    Images
    58
    Rep Power
    74

    Re: Power supply

    Well, If I were going for a new P/S I would go for this one http://www.circuitspecialists.com/prod.itml/icOid/3511 I don't know how many times I have needed a dual P/S, I know it is a bit more expensive but well worth it in the long run, But I guess it's all about budget and you have to get what you can afford. I know it's rated at 3amp and not 5 amp as you have in your above P/S, But with robot electronic testing how many times do you need 5amps?. I know I don't.
    Last edited by 4mem8; 12-10-2008 at 11:43 AM.
    People yearn after this robotic dream, but you can't strip your life of all meaning, emotion and feeling and expect to function.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    74

    Re: Power supply

    Hmmm excellent point. I came by the 5A number because it was not that much more expensive then the 3A model. You definitely bring up a good point about the dual supplies as well. Now I am considering this one: http://www.circuitspecialists.com/prod.itml/icOid/3506

    I was hoping to get a power supply and a function generator for around $400.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    177

    Re: Power supply

    How often do you need 5A? Every time you fire up any of the robots I've seen you build, 4mem. And then some.

    The Crustcrawler arm will pull more than 5A at load. A single widdle toy motor can drive up 5A before you blink - and that's before you stall it. A single 805BB servo can pull a couple amps when stalled.
    I Void Warranties�

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    74

    Re: Power supply

    Yeah that was pretty much my concern but I hadn't even thought of the dual supplies. The second one I posted can be put in parallel to supply 6A.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    177

    Re: Power supply

    Have you poked around on eBay yet to see what you can get a working HP or Gould or Tek for? I tend to buy my test equipment that way, then spend a few dollars more and just have it shipped straight to a calibration or recertification house...
    I Void Warranties�

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    378
    Images
    34
    Rep Power
    56

    Re: Power supply

    I'm probably an idiot to chime in on a topic of which I know so little -- however, when I needed power for testing I went online and bought a 480W computer power supply for about $20. It gives me 3.3, 5 and 12 volts which is pretty much all I ever need. At 12v it claims 17A.

    I'm honestly interested to know why I should pay 10x the cost for apparently lower specs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    177

    Re: Power supply

    Adjustable voltage, nicely packaged.

    A computer power supply isn't bad, really. Watch the 3.3v line, they tend not to be which is why mobos have so much regulation and filtering. I have a couple with a switch soldered inline. Make sure you have a decent load on the 12v line before you power it on, otherwise they like to blow themselves up.
    I Void Warranties�

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,356
    Images
    58
    Rep Power
    74

    Re: Power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrenalynn View Post
    How often do you need 5A? Every time you fire up any of the robots I've seen you build, 4mem. And then some.

    The Crustcrawler arm will pull more than 5A at load. A single widdle toy motor can drive up 5A before you blink - and that's before you stall it. A single 805BB servo can pull a couple amps when stalled.
    Adrenalynn: True, If you are using it to power dc motors and servos, I was more refering to just testing my digital/analogue circuits, I have another P/S if I want to test my Dc Motors rated at 10amps with a variable voltage of 0-50v. Computer P/S supplies are pretty good,They are usually switch mode systems, meaning you have to have a load on them when switched on. I have used them for testing purposes. But dual supplies I use most of.
    Last edited by 4mem8; 12-11-2008 at 04:59 AM.
    People yearn after this robotic dream, but you can't strip your life of all meaning, emotion and feeling and expect to function.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,356
    Images
    58
    Rep Power
    74

    Re: Power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by jes1510 View Post
    Hmmm excellent point. I came by the 5A number because it was not that much more expensive then the 3A model. You definitely bring up a good point about the dual supplies as well. Now I am considering this one: http://www.circuitspecialists.com/prod.itml/icOid/3506

    I was hoping to get a power supply and a function generator for around $400.

    Yeah, I saw that one as well jess1510, That would be ok, just depends on what you want to test, As Adrenalynn states, using it for powering Dc motors or servos can soon up the amps.
    People yearn after this robotic dream, but you can't strip your life of all meaning, emotion and feeling and expect to function.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question(s) PhidgetAdvanced Power Supply, 6V or 12V?
    By bodhibuilder in forum Power
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 08:39 AM
  2. 1HV + ps1503sbu power supply = ouch!
    By Droid Works in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-07-2008, 06:35 PM
  3. Some usefull power supply info.
    By Droid Works in forum Power
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 06:44 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 01:44 PM
  5. Kondo web page translated.
    By Droid Works in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2007, 05:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •