Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Here's what I sent Digi's support. See if anyone here has any notions...

    I had it responding fine in AT command mode. I wrote a PAN to it using the Digi X-CTU app, and then ...
    Nothing. Error from the X-CTU and now it's not responding to AT commands anymore.
    I put a pushbutton to ground on the RST pin. X-CTU was able to detect my hitting the reset switch on a
    restore.
    I put my good matching XBee on and did a read from it. XB24-B Zigbee Router/End Device AT Version 1220.
    So I put the bricked one back on

    Restore
    Unable to communicate with modem
    Pull RST low for a couple seconds, and the Info window disappears just like it says it will.
    I see data go to and from the device a few times (RX/TX lights on level matcher flash) X-CTU reports
    "Resetting AT Commands..."
    Comes back a bit later and says "Unable to find configuration file for modem (firmware version §). Use
    'Download new versions" button to check the web for newer versions
    If I do a "Read" from a fresh boot of X-CTU, it displays "Entering Command Mode", then pops up the info
    window. I hit the reset, it gets some data from the modem, the info box vanishes like it should, then
    "Failed to enter command mode
    Unable to read Version (ATVR)
    Detected baud rate difference.
    Make sure PC and modem baud rate is set correctly
    Read parameters..Failed." I have tried every possible baudrate/parity combination.
    Any advice?
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    71

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Apparently there is a way to restore factory defaults:
    http://forum.sparkfun.com/viewtopic....ee79000a153ed1
    http://forum.sparkfun.com/viewtopic.php?t=12206

    Have you tried this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Notice my post earlier in the second thread - and tried everything in the first as well..

    I'm going to name it "Eric"

    "No, Eric the Half-Bee. He had an accident..."

    Half a bee, philosophically, must, ipso facto, half not be.

    But half the bee
    has got to be,
    vis a vis
    its entity - do you see?

    But can a bee
    be said to be
    or not to be
    an entire bee
    when half the bee
    is not a bee
    due to some ancient injury?

    Singing...

    La dee dee, 1 2 3,
    Eric the half a bee.
    A B C D E F G,
    Eric the half a bee.

    Is this retched demi-bee,
    half asleep upon my knee,
    some freak from a menagerie?
    No! It's Eric the half a bee.


    Fiddle dee dum,
    Fiddle dee dee,
    Eric the half bee.

    Ho ho ho,
    Tee hee hee,
    Eric the half a bee.

    I love this hive employee-ee-ee
    [with buzzing in background]
    bisected accidentally
    one summer afternoon by me
    I love him carnally.

    He loves him carnally... [together]
    ...semi-carnally


    The end
    [Monty Python]
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Woohoo! Eric is a whole bee!

    Under PC Settings, I needed to change it to API mode, then write the AT firmware back to it. Now I have AT commands again. Woot!
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Elgin, Illinois
    Posts
    91
    Rep Power
    46

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Whew! I am glad I am whole again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Eric the 'alf a Poster? Naw, I think you just never had some tragic ancient....injury.
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    139

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    I think this is due to you not using my awesomely simple level converter.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    I know you're kidding, but...
    Actually - had nothing to do with it, since I wasn't using EITHER. I was using a Sparkfun TTL->RS232, and everything was at 3.3v all the way through. Had to do with a bad flash...
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    South Sphincter Idaho
    Posts
    613
    Images
    104
    Rep Power
    65

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Better to Bee than not two B .. or would that Bee Tube bee??

    Glad you found the problem..
    Team Maggot---Mechs. "Bheka" (retired), "Maggot Mk.3(A)"
    " Keep your stick on the ice ".... Red Green

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Bricked XBee [Sigh]

    Thanks!

    What mode are you guys running in for a straight serial link?

    I've got one set as a Coordinator 2.5 AT, and the other set as a Router/Endpoint 2.5 - I know they can see each other, I do an ATND on the coordinator and get the node dump correct from the end-point, but I'm not getting data from the end-point back to the coordinator.

    (I'm sending a string every few seconds from an Arduino back to the PC, PC is the Coordinator, Arduino is the Endpoint)

    It's not the level board either - I am getting node info broadcast, and I've tried it with the board and with a simple divider similar to what Tybs posted...

    [edit] Err - guess it could be. The node identifier would be independant of the serial device attached, since it's querying the XBee, not the Arduino. . .
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Xbee and SSC32
    By Rift in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 12:11 PM
  2. For Sale Xbee Wireless Serial Setup
    By jbod in forum Garage Sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 07:29 PM
  3. XBee Question
    By JimH in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 08:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •