Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How far have robots come?

How far have robots come?

I'm just getting into robotics as a hobby, and it seems like now is a good time to do it. There's a multitude of kits available as well as all kinds of programing tools. It looks like some of the people on here have been building robots for quite a while now. I was just wondering what robotics looked like when you were getting started. I bet you didn't have it so easy.
    Who says everyone needs a signature anyway ?

Re: How far have robots come?

>> I was just wondering what robotics looked like when you were getting started.

Attachment 1036

I actually stopped playing with 'bots for many years. They just weren't mature enough (and were far too expensive) to actually do anything with.

I was stunned a year ago to see how far the space had come.
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

Images

I wanted one of the heathkits but couldn't afford one. The first robot I ever built was based around 555 timers that turned it around when it bumped into something. That was a very long time ago.
    "If A is a success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut."
    -
    Einstein

Don't be a HelpVampire

Images

It's definitely come a long way in a short time. I started about 2000 and spent a lot more time in junkyards and electronic surplus places. Now I mostly get everything I need online. The tools are also much more mature and easy to use.

The rate of progress has been good, but I'm a bit of a pessimist about how far we still have to go. No slight to anyone or any project on this forum -- I come here to be inspired -- but to achieve practical robots there are some serious problems that have to be solved. But we can all have fun while we do it!

Images

Quote Originally Posted by metaform3d View Post