Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Servo for camera follow focus system

Servo for camera follow focus system

Hi, it's my first post. I'm an independant filmmaker and build all my own camera rigs.

I've constructed a remote follow focus using R/C equipment. It includes a Hitec 785 boat winch servo and Futaba two channel transmitter with a dial.

A large gear goes around one of various camera lens and is driven by a smaller gear that is attached to the servo hub. The aim is to be able to set two focus points (lens positions) and switch back and forth between them by rotating the lens using the transmittor's dial. Sometimes the lens has to rotate more than halfway around, so a servo with maximum rotation such as the 785 is needed.

The system works except that the servo is slightly overshooting the mark and then oscillating. With high definition video this is a no-no. The servo needs to stop exactly where I expect it to with no oscillation so I can acheive critical focus and maintain it until the shot is over.

It's been suggested that Trossen's Robotis AX-12 servo would be a better choice. Are these digital servos controlled using standard R/C equipment or is additional hardware and programming skills needed? Does this servo have the accuracy I'm looking for and the torque needed to turn the lenses?

Martin

Images

Re: Servo for camera follow focus system

Welcome to the forums!

Do you know exactly how much rotation you need on the servo itself?

Oscillation can be caused by a couple of things, noise on the signal, noise on the RF link, over torqueing the servo (I doubt this is the case as it doesn't sound like a high torque app), etc. It could also be the pot itself getting a bad read internally on the servo, have you tried replacing the servo itself?