Thread: robotic arm

1. robotic arm

I'm fairly new to the robotics world. I love to tinker around and build things. My son and i built a robotic car that would change direction when it heard a sound and now we want to try something bigger. I want to try to build (rebuild) a robotic arm. It’s a project that my son and I can work on and then I want to use it at work for certain repetitive jobs. It needs to lift a few pounds and be able to repeat a motion with accuracy. any ideas?

Re: robotic arm

Welcome to the forum!

You didn't tell us how long the arm needs to be, what kind of "repetitive jobs", how you define "accuracy" [or more precisely, "precision"], or what your budget is. In the "few pounds" neighborhood, given the need for precision, I'm expecting your budget is in the several thousand dollar neighborhood, correct?
    I Void Warranties�

3. Re: robotic arm

thank you!

This seems to be the place to get our project started. Well....it should be able to reach 18 inches (or so), i would like to repeat a motion within.. .1". budget? don't know? What do you think of the Scorbot? could i rebuild it to run on different software? or just use the frame?

I would suggest putting together the least expensive arm you can probably with "Servo Erector Set" brackets and reasonably inexpensive servos, and then perfecting the IK [Inverse Kinematics] that will be required. We've got a couple people here that are pretty darned good with IK - that's not me for sure. It'd stink to put together a few grand worth of arm and then discover that you can't get functional IK. Build it in scale is generally my advice.
    I Void Warranties�

5. Re: robotic arm

sounds like good advice. Would i use the same software on both? or could i upgrade the set to handle more weight?