Trossen Arduino Top Thread

Thread: Axon Microcontroller

1. Question Axon Microcontroller

Greetings People,

I am a new member to the community and very pleased to to be a part of such a large group of Robotics Enthusiasts. I have been reading some of the threads and see that there are some very tallented people in the community.

My background is in Industrial and Manufacturing plant maintenance where I am an Electrical Maintenance Technician. I have been at it for about 38 years and looking forward to retirement in about...well maybe 10 years the way the Economy is going. My hobbies are Robotics and Music. I play guitar, keyboard, and percussion.

I am in the process of gutting and totally rebuilding a robot with an Engineering student of Stout College for his class project. We are using an Axon microprocessor with a Sabertooth 2 X 10 motor driver board, a 5 sensor line following board, IR distance sensor, and bumper switches. We are done building and now are trying to get the programming done. This is where we are running into trouble. Both of us have had a little bit of programmiong experience but not enough I guess to get these components on speaking terms. The line following board is I2C protocol and I am being told that I need to wire up a circuit of two resistors to the header and connect to two of the Axon's I/O ports and use a technique called bit banging to get the I2C Protocol to work.

If there is anybody out there that knows the Axon and could help us out, I would greatly appreaciate it. I'm about ready for melt-down.

Thank You,

Mike Thomas

Images

Re: Axon Microcontroller

A tutorial on I2C in general: http://robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/u...he_i2c_bus.htm

The AVR used on the AXON has built in hardware I2C, I see that the axon has a (beta) library for I2C http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/...list.shtml#i2c though I've not used the Axon (have used lots of AVRs though).

-Fergs

3. Re: Axon Microcontroller

Thanks Fergs,