Thread: I, Gömböc

Post I, Gömböc

(continuing from here - my thanks to jes1510 and to Adrenalynn who suggested I start this thread.)

I want to build a robot that can come with me when I go to work. I write software for a living, so I always carry my laptop around wherever I go. My laptop is small and light, and so is its case. Still, being the lazy person that I am, after many years of carrying it around, it got me thinking. "Wouldn't it be great", I thought, "if I had a robot to carry my laptop for me?" And then I thought "Wait a minute! If I had a robot, why would I need a laptop? A robot is, after all, a computer!"

That's what I want to build. I want to build a robot that can follow me around, carry my stuff, and be my computer whenever I need it.

Requirements
    • It has to be as light as can be. Weight costs resources that can be used to prolong the robot's uptime. Also, I want to be able to pick it up if I'm in a hurry.
    • It has to be resilient. The real world can be rough so it has to be able to withstand a few bumps and bruises.
    • It has to be strong enough to carry a couple of kilos of stuff placed in its compartment.
    • It has to be water resistant. I live in the Netherlands. It rains a lot here.
    • It has to be able to follow me around, and not confuse me with other people.
    • It has to stay operational for at least 4 hours between a charge or a battery replacement.
    • It has to be able to climb stairs. Because I do.
    • It has to be able to communicate with me. It has to follow my lead, and to tell me when it cannot do so.
    • It has to be able to connect to my wireless network.
    • It has to be able to connect to a mobile network.
    • It has to be able to find its own way when I'm not there. I may want it to do my errants.

Design