Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

  1. Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    My first attempt to upload a example sketch to the board was successful. My second attempt was to upload the loop sketch and connect a leds to Digital pins 1-7. Since this attempt the upload hangs with the TX led constantly flashing. The program hangs and I loose control functions, I have to make a forced closure of the program.

    I removed the external bench top power supply and leds connected to digital outputs. Powered the board via the usb connection. Attempted to upload the 'loop" file, I get a constant flashing "TX" led and the program hangs?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    71

    Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    Can you post your code here please? That'll help us help you.
    "If A is a success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut."
    -
    Einstein

    Don't be a HelpVampire

  3. Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    I hooked the board up to a laptop. The errors that I received,

    avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
    avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x20

    Here is the example sketch I am attempting to upload,

    'Loop"

    *
    * Loop
    * by David A. Mellis
    *
    * Lights multiple LEDs in sequence, then in reverse. Demonstrates
    * the use of a for() loop and arrays.
    *
    * http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Loop
    */

    int timer = 100; // The higher the number, the slower the timing.
    int pins[] = { 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 }; // an array of pin numbers
    int num_pins = 6; // the number of pins (i.e. the length of the array)

    void setup()
    {
    int i;

    for (i = 0; i < num_pins; i++) // the array elements are numbered from 0 to num_pins - 1
    pinMode(pins[i], OUTPUT); // set each pin as an output
    }

    void loop()
    {
    int i;

    for (i = 0; i < num_pins; i++) { // loop through each pin...
    digitalWrite(pins[i], HIGH); // turning it on,
    delay(timer); // pausing,
    digitalWrite(pins[i], LOW); // and turning it off.
    }
    for (i = num_pins - 1; i >= 0; i--) {
    digitalWrite(pins[i], HIGH);
    delay(timer);
    digitalWrite(pins[i], LOW);
    }
    }
    Last edited by cross1933; 05-21-2009 at 12:01 PM.

  4. Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    Problem was that board selection was ATMEGA 168, this is a ATMEGA 328.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    71

    Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    So, it's working now?
    "If A is a success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut."
    -
    Einstein

    Don't be a HelpVampire

  6. Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    Quote Originally Posted by jes1510 View Post
    So, it's working now?
    Its working but I need to modify the program to monitor the read back value?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    71

    Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    Sorry but I don't understand exactly what it is you want to do now. Can you elaborate please?
    "If A is a success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut."
    -
    Einstein

    Don't be a HelpVampire

  8. Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    Quote Originally Posted by jes1510 View Post
    Sorry but I don't understand exactly what it is you want to do now. Can you elaborate please?
    I am testing a devantech SRF05 sensor to mount on my robot platform. I want to monitor the output from the Arduino board will I change the distance from the sensor to the test object.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Upload problems with Arduino Duemilanove!

    You would need to write a program to do that. The code you're running sets all pins as output...
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question(s) How to determine speed with arduino
    By ROBOTMAN in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 08:43 PM
  2. Question(s) Arduino serial problems
    By ROBOTMAN in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-09-2009, 10:59 PM
  3. Project Arduino and RSRs (Really Small Robots)
    By LinuxGuy in forum Rovers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 03:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •