Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Xbee socket

  1. Xbee socket

    I got a pair of Xbees and a USB connector for one. I was planning on just using an IC socket for the other but now find that it is not a standard pin spacing. My college electronics shop doesn't have a socket that will fit the Xbee pin spacing.

    Where do I find such a socket?

  2. #2

    Re: Xbee socket

    Here's one : http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=8272

    But you're gonna need more than a USB socket to connect XBee to USB. That's why they make this module : http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=8687 to have it already built with the USB translator and voltage regulator added in.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    142

    Re: Xbee socket

    Also on the non-USB side, you'll need a 3.3v reg and a logic level shifter for the TX and RX if you want to connect them to 5v TTL

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    177

    Re: Xbee socket

    It's 2mm pin spacing. You can't just get a standard socket since it will just put 2mm out again. You need an adapter board and you need 2mm headers for the top and 0.10" headers for the bottom. The one I use: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=8276

    Paired with the 2mm headers above (2 required) and these: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...roducts_id=115 on the bottom. Some assembly (aka soldering) required. And yes, agree with Tybs - you'll still need to build a power supply and signal level matcher.
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    853
    Images
    99
    Rep Power
    74

    Re: Xbee socket

    This board will take care of the 5v to 3.3v conditioning and the 3.3v power supply:
    http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=9132
    "If A is a success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut."
    -
    Einstein

    Don't be a HelpVampire

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    142

    Re: Xbee socket

    Quote Originally Posted by jes1510 View Post
    This board will take care of the 5v to 3.3v conditioning and the 3.3v power supply:
    http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=9132

    Yup, these are great. THey're already on order to carry here at Trossen too.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Bricked XBee [Sigh]
    By Adrenalynn in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 10:49 AM
  2. Question about Xbee Modules
    By No0bert in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 10:31 AM
  3. Xbee and SSC32
    By Rift in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 12:11 PM
  4. For Sale Xbee Wireless Serial Setup
    By jbod in forum Garage Sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 07:29 PM
  5. XBee Question
    By JimH in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 08:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •