Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Kondo khr 2hv

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Coventry Uk
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    34

    Kondo khr 2hv

    Hi there, havent posted in a while, been busy designing new parts and getting them made for prototyping before unveiling my masterpiece, well hopefully a masterpiece lol. I am looking to buy a bench power supply for my khr 2 and was wondering which one to buy that is cheap, reliable etc etc.
    i found this one and wondered if anyone knew if this would be ok or if there are other optiohns?? I dont know much about the amps/volts , the technical stuff. But i do know that my batteries just are not good enough!

    http://cpc.farnell.com/tenma/72-8350...-5a/dp/IN05540

    Obviously i would need a kondo plug in thing connected to red and black on the bench power supply, I think???

    In the process of making some gripping hands and new motions so need power for as long as i require.

    Any help is greatly appreciated!

    Thanks

    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    If you're only needing to run a few servos at a time, it'd probably do the job. Trying to animate the whole Kondo would result in blown fuses. 5A is just not adequate for running a humanoid.
    I Void Warranties�

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Coventry Uk
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    34

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    Ah, ok, I was looking to probably run the whole thing, to check say walking gaits etc as opposed to a few servos at a time. How/why would it blow a fuse?
    What would you suggest to get to do the job ?

    Thanks

    Dave

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    5A is just not adequate. You should be sourcing something in the 1A/servo to be reasonably safe. I'm not sure what the current draw on the Kondo's servos are. Do you have specs that would say?
    I Void Warranties�

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    633
    Images
    2
    Rep Power
    59

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    You can get an 800 Watt 12V switching power supply from china for about 150$ excl. shipping.
    That's 66 amps, you should be able to drive a few servo's off of that.

    I've checked digikey but they're 460$ there, so that's a no-no...

    You do not want to hook sensitive electronics up to the same supply without any decent bypassing and decoupling though... best to get a smaller, linear power supply in the 0-15V 0-2A range for that.
    Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity

    "For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve life, press three" - Alice Kahn

    Resistance is futile! (if < 1)

  6. #6

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    I use one of these for my Manoi (almost the same as 2HV)

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=30391

    A bit pricey though
    .

    www.ukrobotgroup.com

    "Welcome to the Robolution"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    633
    Images
    2
    Rep Power
    59

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    Hell, given the prices here in Belgium, that's pretty cheap actually ;-)
    That's why I get most my stuff import from china, even with shipping and customs I get things a -lot- cheaper
    Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity

    "For a list of all the ways technology has failed to improve life, press three" - Alice Kahn

    Resistance is futile! (if < 1)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Coventry Uk
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    34

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    Hi, cheers for the help.
    Orac i had a look at the link you posted and to be honest 100 is fine, if it will power my khr , well every servo. But what happens if i add more servos to the stock?
    I mean if i bought that got it home i would then eb stuck.
    I mean what settings do things have to be on etc etc.
    I really wish kondo would release a constant power supply for their bots. I treally would be a lot
    easier!!!!

    Dave

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA Area
    Posts
    5,341
    Rep Power
    174

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    25A is going to power a _bunch_ of servos.

    You would need to set the voltage using that dial over on the right. Never trust internal meters, always hook the multimeter up and confirm. That's about it!
    I Void Warranties�

  10. #10

    Re: Kondo khr 2hv

    Hi, as Adrenalynn said, 25A is more than enough for anything you will need.

    I had the 5A version of it as well, that worked ok for 90&#37; of the trimming and setting up of the robot, usually working around 3-4A.

    When you start to do things a bit more violent, the current limiter would cut in.

    I like setting my current limiter to 4A anyway as I can keep an eye on the LED and know when my routines maybe unnecessarily strenuous, or when a Servo is about to blow !!!!
    .

    www.ukrobotgroup.com

    "Welcome to the Robolution"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Kondo Khr 2hv for sale
    By Kondo Dave in forum Garage Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 06:13 AM
  2. kHR 2HV for sale :(
    By Kondo Dave in forum Garage Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 04:09 AM
  3. Kondo RCB-3, KRS-4024 servo, & more!
    By BauerMECH in forum Garage Sale
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-09-2008, 06:44 AM
  4. Khr 2hv Problems
    By Kondo Dave in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-02-2008, 10:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •