Thread: Phidgets 888 IO board and Digital input question.

1. Phidgets 888 IO board and Digital input question.

First let me state for the record that I am a noob plus 1 when dealing with some of the electronic information. Programming is my side...

Ok i am working on a project that i want to tell the IO board then a toy lasertag gun took a hit. On the top of the gun is the IR receiver and some LEDs that light up when hit. The gun also shakes for a moment due to a small vibrating motor. These are the guns

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Hasbro-77984-LAZERTAG-Multiplayer-Battle/dp/B0013U5JSE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1249417538&sr=8-1"]Amazon.com: LAZERTAG Multiplayer Battle System: Toys & Games[/ame]

my question how is the best way to capture the hit from the IO board. I was thinking about connecting to the LEDs or the motor and running one wire to the ground on the board and the other to the digital input. Is that a good or a bad idea. The gun runs on 6 AA batteries, not sure if that matters for this discusstion. There are 4 red LEDs on the top dome of the gun and the ones i would tie into. I do know the wires that supply power to the daughter board that the ir sensor and leds are connected to. I have not yet checked to see if power is there all the time or only when a hit occurs.

If this is a totally wrong approach please let me know. The fire and Shield on the gun i know i can control from the phidgets 2 relay board for the 888 IO board. I am stuck on the input side.

Any help is greatly accepted

tim

Re: Phidgets 888 IO board and Digital input question.

Do you have a multimeter?
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

3. Re: Phidgets 888 IO board and Digital input question.

Yes, still a bit green on how to use some of the settings. I was trying to find a way using ohm side to see if there was something that has no connectivity but when hit by the other gun the connectivity jumped the fell off. Is that what i should be looking for?