Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Building an affordable Pressure Sensitive Floor...?

1. Building an affordable Pressure Sensitive Floor...?

Hey,

I'm new here and have a question regards to building my own pressure sensitive floor, akin to this one http://ame2.asu.edu/projects/floor/.

I hope you can help me out with it.

I'm an artist and am looking to build one as early as say now, for an exhibition in February of next year.

I need help from scratch. i have diddly squat for a budget so would need to build a very cheap version. So, I am open to all suggestions.

The exhibition will involve a large black square composed of soil (roughly 4 x 4m and 200mm in depth) that the general public will walk onto. Beneath the soil patch would lie the pressure sensitive panels. A live image of their movement on the soil will be projected onto a gallery wall. The plan is to have the projection resemble an aerial map of the soil patch, a simple monochrome that is black with white demarcation lines. The sensors would track the imprints and reconfigure the white lines.

I've attached an image to give you the general gist of the project.

Sincerely hope you can help.

Cheers,

The Omen
    Last edited by The Omen; 12-17-2009 at 08:07 AM.

Re: Building an affordable Pressure Sensitive Floor...?

Welcome to the forum!

You didn't give us a budget to stay within, so we don't have any kind of factor. Some budgets are just a physical impossibility - others aren't.
    I Void Warranties´┐Ż

Images

Hey Omen,

Maybe a pressure sensative floor is not the best solution to the problem. I would think that having 20 cm of dirt between a sensor and the thing you are trying to sense would make your resolution so low that it would be sort of useless, or in the least would create a very general idea of what was going on, and would come at a relatively great expence.