Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: rc command airsoft guns

  1. rc command airsoft guns

    i just ordered some of these for my new robot but they didnt come with wires attached does anybody know how to connect these to a biped brat

    Last edited by matterest; 01-22-2010 at 12:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Whidbey Island, WA
    Posts
    1,718
    Images
    456
    Rep Power
    97

    Re: rc command airsoft guns

    I'm totally guessing here...and I probably shouldn't...but I will.

    So there is a DC motor that turns a gear that moves the slide back and fires the gun. So...sending DC power to that motor fires the gun.

    To start with, there should be two leads coming off of the DC motor. Solder a wire to each of these. Get a nine volt battery. Touch one of the wires to the possitive, and the other to the negative. If you hear a horrible grinding noise, you have it backwards...

    Next Order a battle switch or other relay.

    When the brown truck makes its delivery, take one of the two wires that lead to your gun, and cut it in half.

    Strip a small amount off of where you cut it.

    The battle switch has 3 or 4 terminals and a diagram. You want to connect the wires to either side of the battle switch so that they are not normaly connected.

    Finally plug the battle switch into your servo controller on an empty channel.

    Now you can use a PWM signal to turn your gun on and off.

    If I have time I'll post a tutorial later...unless there already is one.

    Hope this helps.

    DB

  3. #3
    zoomkat Guest

    Re: rc command airsoft guns

    How does it currently work? If it has a trigger, then mounting one of the small el cheapo servos on the side such that the servo arm can push the trigger might be a quick and inexpensive solution.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    126

    Re: rc command airsoft guns

    Quote Originally Posted by zoomkat View Post
    How does it currently work? If it has a trigger, then mounting one of the small el cheapo servos on the side such that the servo arm can push the trigger might be a quick and inexpensive solution.
    There's no trigger on these, they are intended to be installed as replacement parts in an Airsoft tank.

    -Fergs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    126

    Re: rc command airsoft guns

    Quote Originally Posted by darkback2 View Post
    Next Order a battle switch or other relay.
    These draw fairly low current, a 1A driver is all you need. I use an SN754410 (1A motor driver) to drive the tank guns, but that's just because I have them on my ArbotiX. If you have a regular digital output pin, that can source about 5-10mA, you can probably control it with a darlington transistor pair (~$1 at radio shack vs $20+S&H for a battle switch).

    -Fergs

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    141

    Re: rc command airsoft guns

    You'll also need a barrel...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Whidbey Island, WA
    Posts
    1,718
    Images
    456
    Rep Power
    97

    Re: rc command airsoft guns

    Quote Originally Posted by lnxfergy View Post
    These draw fairly low current, a 1A driver is all you need. I use an SN754410 (1A motor driver) to drive the tank guns, but that's just because I have them on my ArbotiX. If you have a regular digital output pin, that can source about 5-10mA, you can probably control it with a darlington transistor pair (~$1 at radio shack vs $20+S&H for a battle switch).

    -Fergs
    Fair enough...that was why I said "or other relay" I was simply going for the easy option. Yours is just as valid, and cheaper.

  8. Re: rc command airsoft guns

    my gun has no wires no nothing electronic except for a motor

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    126

    Re: rc command airsoft guns

    Quote Originally Posted by matterest View Post
    my gun has no wires no nothing electronic except for a motor
    The motor itself has 2 tabs, you'll apply a voltage across them, from a relay/transistor/motor-driver.

    -Fergs

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Contest Entry RC truck robot conversion
    By Orac in forum Project Showcase
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 11-14-2012, 12:50 AM
  2. Question(s) Can Roboard capture (read) PWM from an RC receiver (RC Servo lib)?
    By John Elliott in forum Robot Computers
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 08:50 AM
  3. Interesting Preprogrammed RC servo and data acquisiton controller
    By tart in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 11:13 AM
  4. RC Transmitter Gimbals
    By Quantum in forum Mechanics / Construction
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2009, 09:48 PM
  5. Guns: The best gun?/Un-aligning guns?
    By MSK Mech Commander in forum Mech Warfare
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 04:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •