Thread: New Member

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the forum. I am an Instrument/Electrical Technician at a Power Station in Virginia. I am 48 years old and enjoy tinkering with electronics. I have been fascinated with robots since I first saw the movie Forbidden Planet with Robby the robot. I've always wanted to build a robot. When I was young I had all the time in the world and no money. Now I have a little money and no time. Oh well, I have finally gotten started. I now have the skills and tools needed to build my very own robot. And what did I do? Start small and simple....noooo. Large and complicated. It has now become a midlife crisis. I must finish this! The robot will be called Magnus. He is approximately 6 ft. tall and already weighs about 190lbs. He has tank tread drive using two wheelchair motors. He is similar in appearance to the 1960's Lost in Space robot B9 (only in certain ways). I used a clothes dryer drum for the torso and various other everyday items for most of the remaining parts. He is still in the rough, unpainted stage of construction so don't laugh. Lots of finish work to do! The arms have been the hardest part so far. I am still having difficulty figuring out how to remote control everything. That's where I hope you all can help. Here is the link to my Blog. Let me know what you think www.r-gordon.blogspot.com

Rex

Images

Re: New Member

Wow, that is huge.
    I most certainly am not the one to help you but it looks great. I'd love to see footage of it up and running once you're at that stage. Must be loud?

Images

Welcome RGordon to this forum, WOW very impressive first time robot, As a joiner/cabinate maker i love your nice woodwork and in particular your neat wiring. Also love tank track type robots, Have a couple myself but not that big lol. love to follow this project with great interest. good work.
    People yearn after this robotic dream, but you can't strip your life of all meaning, emotion and feeling and expect to function.