Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dynamixel AX-12 Issues

1. Dynamixel AX-12 Issues

I'm currently building the "walking Droid" Yes I am a beginner. While running the Droid .bpg example the servos seem to have a mind of their own. I thought I may have connected the cables incorrectly but I check and rechecked the build I know it's correct (famous last words). I ran the Dynamixel Manager and the servos will not appear after a full search is done. I know the CM-5 is receiving data because the TXD and RXD blink intermittently while in "manager mode".

Any information as to the cause would be greatly appreciated. Is there something I am missing?

Thanks,
    Tom

2. Re: Dynamixel AX-12 Issues

Have you also checked the actual cables? if you see any dents or sharp bends that could mean the cable is damaged.

Besides that the things that come to mind are; Did you run the assemblycheck? (mainly, can you be sure that all servos have a unique ID?) Have you tried connecting 1 dynamixel, does it find that? Have you checked the fuse in the CM5? Are you in a area with a lot of 'magnetic noise'? (near power-lines seems to be most common, but honestly, it could be your pc/tv/phone)

Other than those, im not sure what else could cause it, but im sure there could be other reasons.
    (Its probably not your pc/tv/phone btw, unless they are pretty old and 'heavy')

If the above doesnt help, try and elaborate as much as you can (how exactly 'a mind on their own'?) on what you've tried, im sure its fixable one way or the other

3. Re: Dynamixel AX-12 Issues

Hello and thanks for your reply:

I checked each individual cable for split, kinks and they seem fine. When I ran the AUX program and the CM-5 responds as it should. This is tested for each cable to ensure they were all working.

When running the assemblycheck the ID's print their own individual #'s. During the above testing of cables I only had 1 dynamixel wired at a time