Thread: Question on Serializer WL

1. Question on Serializer WL

Hi all,

I'm new to microcontroller programming so this is a newb on the line. I recently purchased a serializer WL microcontroller (with the USB connector to PC). I'm warming up with the little example with the LED lights in the tutorial (http://www.roboticsconnection.com/mu...Guide_v1.1.pdf)

The problem is, when I input all the code and hit debug, it runs, but I don't see any LEDs blinking on the serializer. I see three built in LEDs on the serializer, and the third one blinks all the time when I hook it up to the laptop so I'm guessing that indicates power. Numbers 1 and 2 are both off despite what I set the blink rate to in my window (am I looking at the right places?)

A couple points of suspicion are:

1. I'm not connected to the laptop via a serial port but rather with the USB connector. In the example, the connection is set to "COM2", which would give me a debug error. I set it to COM3 and it could debug but I'm not sure this is the right thing to do. What should I set it to?

2. Very stupid question, but you wouldn't have to hook up the serializer to a battery when its already connected to the computer...would you?

3. I'm running this program on Visual C# 2010 Express, and I think there may be some compatibility issues. For instance, in Form1.cs, I modified my code to be

private void BlinkLEDButton_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
    if (Led1CheckBox.Checked)
    {
    s_.BlinkLED(LedId.Led1, Convert.ToInt16(BlinkRateTextBox.Text));
    }
    if (Led2CheckBox.Checked)
    {
    s_.BlinkLED(LedId.Led2, Convert.ToInt16(BlinkRateTextBox.Text));
    }
    }

where Led1 was LED1 and BlinkRateTextBox.Text was BlinkRateTextBox.Text() in the original code intended to be used in Visual C# 2005. The modifications were made because the original code would give me a debugging error.

I would really appreciate if someone is willing to give the newb some help. Thanks a ton in advance.

Images