Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Arbotix Power supply

  1. #1

    Question Arbotix Power supply

    Hi everyone, I just recently bought an Arbotix board, I am planning on powering some Ax-12 servos on it, I was wondering if this power supply would do the trick?
    http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=9442

    I don't really want to use a LiPoly battery yet.

    thanks for the help

    -joe

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    126

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    600mA isn't much current, if you've got more than a 2-3 servos, or any under big load, you'll probably overdraw it. Something like this: http://www.trossenrobotics.com/bioloid-smps-cm-5.aspx (5A output) would be better.

    -Fergs

  3. #3

    Thumbs up Re: Arbotix Power supply

    Thanks lnxfergy,
    I'll try that power supply.

    Newb question, is there a danger to the equipment if you overdraw it? Does that mean it merely isn't getting enough current?

    thanks again

    -joe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    140

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by ohbowz View Post
    Thanks lnxfergy,
    I'll try that power supply.

    Newb question, is there a danger to the equipment if you overdraw it? Does that mean it merely isn't getting enough current?

    thanks again

    -joe
    Actually, check this one I recently picked up. Nearly identical, just a different make and $10 cheaper. http://www.trossenrobotics.com/p/pow...-12vdc-5a.aspx

    You'll need a way to interface it though, either splice the wires or use this: http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store...l-Adapter.aspx at the cost of one of your Bioloid ports on the ArbotiX.

    No danger, you'll just constantly reset your Arbotix as it resets from power dips when your servos try to move.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    321
    Images
    1
    Rep Power
    39

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by Tyberius View Post
    Actually, check this one I recently picked up. Nearly identical, just a different make and $10 cheaper. http://www.trossenrobotics.com/p/pow...-12vdc-5a.aspx

    You'll need a way to interface it though, either splice the wires or use this: http://www.trossenrobotics.com/store...l-Adapter.aspx at the cost of one of your Bioloid ports on the ArbotiX.

    No danger, you'll just constantly reset your Arbotix as it resets from power dips when your servos try to move.
    I just tried powering up PhantomX hexapod using mentioned power supply using John's Bioloid Bus Interface.
    Which I thought would be pretty much the same as mentioned SMPS2Dynamixel adapter.
    But I just saw servos keeping constantly resetting.
    Connecting PS directly to ArbotiX instead of Bioloid bus breakout board shouldn't change anything, right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    126

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    RobotNV, do they reset while moving or sitting still? With the hexapods, I had a lot of trouble with it resetting while running quickly when I had my older Tenergy batteries -- I imagine that you could be enough current to drop the voltage while walking.

    -Fergs

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    321
    Images
    1
    Rep Power
    39

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    They reset when powering up.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    126

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by RobotNV View Post
    They reset when powering up.
    That sounds like a bad power supply (if it works on battery, which I assume it does, since you posted a working video yesterday)

    -Fergs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    321
    Images
    1
    Rep Power
    39

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    I tried different power supply and it worked.
    Bad power supply, right? No, I put original PS and it worked too.
    So either cable or connection. I can't try old cable - used it up for battery monitor.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Northern, VA (Fredericksburg)
    Posts
    104
    Images
    10
    Rep Power
    32

    Re: Arbotix Power supply

    I'm currently using a AC adaptor to power my Arbotix, but it only supplies 300mA :*( I have another one that can source 3A, but its at 14 Volts. When I send commands to the Arbotix, using a modified version of Darkback2's code the single AX-12+ I have connected twitches but doesn't really move, which I am guessing is due to the lack of current. It could certainly be something else but that was my first guess.

    So my question is would putting the 14 Volt, 3A supply to the Arbotix hurt it or the AX-12's? I know its over their rated voltage, thats why I am asking if anyone has tried it and been ok?

    Its really tough to get a different powersupply when your in Afghanistan...

    Cheers,
    Scott

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. dell power supply for test bench work
    By csdude in forum Rovers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 02:35 PM
  2. FlexiForce Drive Circuit: Power Supply
    By bioeng in forum Sensors
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-28-2009, 03:28 AM
  3. Question(s) 4-Motor Servo Kit Power Supply
    By patatoeswizard in forum Power
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-18-2009, 03:04 PM
  4. Question(s) PhidgetAdvanced Power Supply, 6V or 12V?
    By bodhibuilder in forum Power
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 09:39 AM
  5. Kondo web page translated.
    By Droid Works in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2007, 06:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •