Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: AX12+ how to turn off overload detection

AX12+ how to turn off overload detection

Hello to everyone,

I'm an italian software developer, I live in Verona, I was born in 1967 and my name is Andrea.
    My hobby is robotics.

I'm reporting here a question I've asked in private to lnxfergy: and his reply down below:

QUESTION:
    Dear lnxfergy,
    Please I'd like to ask you a question

I've seen your post:
    http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/showthread.php?t=4192

I'm trying AX12+ and I see that they have a running torque of only 8Kg*cm, after that it shuts down.

I've seen you were talking about turning off overload detection.
    Do you mean clearing bit 5 of 0x12 (Alarm Shutdown register) ?
    Does this way release more torque?

I've seen that robotis doc says it has an holding torque of 15Kg*cm @12V 1.4A
    I measured current, but it sinks no more than 1A and then it shuts down.

Could you suggest me other cheap motors or servo motors suitable to build a little robotic arm (arm lenght is 15 cm and forearm length is 15cm )?

Thank you in advance for your help
    Andrea

REPLY FROM lnxfergy:
    Holding torque does not equal moving torque. The general consensus is that the AX-12 moving torque is about half the rated holding torque, which is about what you are seeing.

I would also strongly recommend that you do not turn off overload shutdown. It's there for a reason -- to preserve the geartrain. If you turn off the shutdown, expect to strip gears out

Unfortunately, torque costs money. The AX-12s are one of the better torque to dollars ratio servos available.

I'd really suggest you post future questions into the forum -- that way these responses stay around for everyone to benefit from! Seriously, we don't bite, and you've done your research, so you'd get plenty of good responses.

-Fergs

Re: AX12+ how to turn off overload detection

Thank you lnxfergy