Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: MosquitIO desktop turret

  1. MosquitIO desktop turret

    Just got mine in the mail today. Put it together no problem, instructions were very clear. I'm not really sure what the next step is though. I assume the nifty looking control panel on the item's page is the python app? So I have to download python and run that app? If anyone can point me in the right direction it would be much appreciated. I'm running OSX 10.6

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    127

    Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    The fancier GUI shown on the page is actually the Visual C# app listed. I'm not entirely sure if it can run under OSX (you could try installing "mono", which is the open source cross-platform C# runtime, however, I'm not too sure how well it supports GUI stuff from C#, and I'm also not sure it runs under OSX, I've only used it for command line programs under Linux).

    The Python app that comes packaged with the Arduino sketch is a command line only program -- it has no GUI. It basically runs through and tests each function of the firmware (in developing the firmware this was the program I used to be sure it met the specifications). You will have to install Python to run this app.

    -Fergs

  3. Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    I get the feeling it might be better to just do all my robotics stuff on the windows side... Assuming I do, what do I need to do to get that GUI running?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Posts
    682
    Images
    174
    Rep Power
    84

    Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    Hey,

    Yes, life will be much easier on the windows side.

    MS Express (free) http://www.microsoft.com/express/
    Install C#

    Then get started with the C# sample app
    http://www.trossenrobotics.com/Downl...VSC_Source.zip

    Study the app to learn the code and then hack away!

    Good luck

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    127

    Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    Quote Originally Posted by draikani View Post
    I get the feeling it might be better to just do all my robotics stuff on the windows side... Assuming I do, what do I need to do to get that GUI running?
    There's plenty of us using Linux or OSX. Don't be scared away in general. This particular product is currently better suited for Windows - I guess I should extend that python test app into a full blown GUI.

    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    Yes, life will be much easier on the windows side.
    Bite your tongue off.

    -Fergs
    Last edited by lnxfergy; 08-20-2010 at 04:02 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    351
    Images
    84
    Rep Power
    49

    Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    Have you tried Parallels or bootcamp to install windows on your Mac?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Posts
    682
    Images
    174
    Rep Power
    84

    Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    >>>This particular product is currently better suited for Windows

    yeah, yeah, yeah, that part was inferred. Due to the current code examples available on a brand new product. (You disclaimer nazi! )

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    141

    Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    And Godwin's law hath finally proven itself on the TRC.

  9. Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    I do run bootcamp for vista. I think I'm going to repartition and reinstall before I get started on all this stuff though. Originally I had set aside only about 32Gigs because I refused to admit I would ever use windows for anything other than Solid Works. That space is going fast =( Thanks for all the input, I'll try to put up a video/review of the product after I get everything running.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    351
    Images
    84
    Rep Power
    49

    Re: MosquitIO desktop turret

    Quote Originally Posted by draikani View Post
    I do run bootcamp for vista. I think I'm going to repartition and reinstall before I get started on all this stuff though. Originally I had set aside only about 32Gigs because I refused to admit I would ever use windows for anything other than Solid Works. That space is going fast =( Thanks for all the input, I'll try to put up a video/review of the product after I get everything running.
    Normally, I would never suggest such heresy, but sometimes it's necessary...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. wifi robot with fully auto paintball turret
    By seesoe in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 06-02-2011, 12:34 AM
  2. Another sentient turret
    By Ineedacatscan in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-28-2008, 01:39 PM
  3. Contest Entry Sentient Turret
    By ekoos7 in forum Project Showcase
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 11:54 AM
  4. Contest Entry Entry 1: USB Gun Turret
    By Vaughn in forum Project Showcase
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-27-2007, 10:34 PM
  5. Home Automation and Gun turret
    By Vaughn in forum Project Showcase
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-22-2007, 11:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •