Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: laser eye safety for a scanning laser rangefinder

laser eye safety for a scanning laser rangefinder

Howdy folks,

I'm working on a design for a low-cost scanning laser rangefinder, and I need some help with the eye safety calculations. I've never done them before, and it's a little convoluted. The system will be using a 905 nm diode. Has anyone done this before?

Re: laser eye safety for a scanning laser rangefinder

Are you doing this for a commercial application? If so I can privately recommend someone who will guide you through the process. Filing with the FDA is non-trivial, and figuring out your maximum exposure is just the first step.

The FDA safety requirements for an autonomous consumer robot equipped with a scanning laser are a little bit more involved than a laser pointer. (...speaking from experience here!)

In any case, I'll assume you're at least familiar with the AEL limits. I can show you to calculate them, but no warranty is implied... don't give yourself eye surgery.

I'll also assume that you're pulsing your laser. If you're not, you should. As you experiment with these equations, you'll notice that you can increase your peak power by shortening your pulse time.

Finally, I'm guessing you mean 'Class 1'. That is the only class safe enough to blast a human in the eyes without causing any damage. Since your laser wavelenth is 905nm, people will be unaware they're being blasted. This makes the product much more dangerous than a visible laser, so Class 1 is a good plan.

You'll need to scale your units appropriately. If your pulse time is in milliseconds and your peak power is in milliwatts, divide by 1000!