Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: i want to start...

1. i want to start...

hi everybody im new to the robotic world and i dont know where to start i am good in mechanic but i dont know how to program a bot...what project should i start with can you send me link?

thank you

Re: i want to start...

Coming from a newbie's perspective myself, I'd ask what do you want to accomplish and what is your budget? Another one to ask is do you have any time limitations, i.e., do you want to have it working within x-number of months, or you'll just work on it as you can?

Paul

3. Re: i want to start...

Also what's your skillset? I'm an experienced programmer (it's my day job) but don't know much about electronics or mechanical construction and this has definitely had an effect on what I could accomplish starting out. One of the nice things about robotics is how multidisciplinary it is

Images

Dear monsieurpo,

In addition to what others said, I would encourage you to think a little bit past the "start" question.
    Who do you want to be in robotics?
    I wrote a blog post recently trying to address that question: http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/blog.php?b=273

5. Re: i want to start...

Hi:

You can give http://diyrobots.webng.com a try.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by Al1970 View Post
    Hi:

You can give http://diyrobots.webng.com a try.
    That has to be the most eye-bleeding awful website I have seen in years. 1997 called and they want their website back (and their micro's).

My recommendation: Pick up an Arduino and an handful of sensors/breadboard/jumpers, a servo, and some LEDs. Teach yourself to program, you won't get far in robotics without at least some basic understanding of code. Once you have a solid grasp of how to make things blink/buzz/whir, put it on a simple 2 wheeled platform, grab some IR sensors, and start to program it to react to objects autonomously. Crawl before you walk, etc.

http://www.trossenrobotics.com/c/arduino-robotics.aspx