Thread: Quad Mech: Ig

Images

Quad Mech: Khaos

Hello TRC,
    It has been a while since I have posted anything of any significance and I am can't promise that I will update this thread regularly. Regardless though I just wanted to give everyone a preview of the mech that I have been working on for the 2011 MW season. So far my progress has been slow due to circumstances which are out of my control. I only have a little over a month to finish for RoboFest though so progress needs to speed up considerably. This mech is actually being built with school funding so I am able to do a few things that I have been wanting to do but have not had the money.

Name: Ig
    Layout: 3 dof quad
    Servos: 13x RX-24, 1x AX-12+
    Microcontroller: Arbotix +
    Power Cell: Lipo
    Armament: 2 modified tank guns
    Camera: Trendnet
    Construction materials: Aluminum, ABS

Based on my experience building my last mech (Jeff) I have discoverd a few areas that needed to be improved in my overall design. The three main improvements are:

1. Better control software- I had basically no gui at robogames and didn't even have a retical for aiming until sunday.

2. Better gun(s)- last year I only had one very slow shooting tank gun that had issues with firing even when it was working successfully. Don't kid yourself with the whole "one hit per second" deal that is setup with the scoring system. You are still going to want at least 3 shots per second. This is due to the overall inaccurate nature of the airsoft guns. I plan on using two modified tank guns this year. If time permits I would also like to add some sensors to the guns to detect jams and misfires, as well as counting shots that are actually fired. This will make it easier to determine how much ammo I have during a match.